We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Warkworth House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Warkworth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Warkworth House Hotel
Save
You added Warkworth House Hotel to your Saves list
16 Bridge Street, Warkworth, Amble NE65 0XB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Warkworth
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We are just back from a three night stay at this hotel and can recommend it to anyone. We had a cracking room (No 7), great food and good beer available in the bar. The staff made us feel very welcome and were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Room 7 was ace. I think it cost a bit extra but well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    38
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
10
80
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed in Warkworth House Hotel and enjoyed it so much! Margaret, the manager, made us feel so welcome. We didn't even bother to lock our door when we left the hotel. It was like staying in someone's country home. The beach was nearby and we enjoyed walking along the shore and finding beautiful sea glass and seeing all the people walk by with their dogs. It was a lovely three day vacation and if we hadn't been homesick for our own dogs, we would've liked to stay longer.

Room Tip: My room was facing the street and there was a little traffic noise but it died down in time to go to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed here the end of last year as a weekend getaway and looked for something a bit cheaper outside of Alnwick. Not entirely sure I got the room I booked as it definitely didn't have a bath as stated, however it was tucked away in its own corner of the hotel so I stuck with it for the quiet factor, the room its self was somewhat of an attic conversion however for what it lacked in height and space it made up for in cleanliness, design and personality. Parking was also a bit restricted on the space and lets just say I am glad I drive a small car. For me the most disappointing thing about my stay was the dis-contention amongst the ranks of the staff which was openly expressed in front of the guests, this is something I do not like to see as it makes guests uncomfortable.

Aside from that a nice hotel in an idyllic location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Just back form a one night stay. Great staff who made us feel very welcome. Room was very nice and just refurbed. Large and with plenty of room. It was at the front of the hotel yet we didnt notice the traffic noise at all as previous reviews had said. Clean and tidy. Breakfast was OK, nothing great and just OK. We ate in the resteraunt for our evenning meal and this was probably the only let down. Food was really well presented but just lacked any taste. Both of us had different meals yet both said the meals were just bland. This was the only let down during our stay. Staff were fantastic, Room was great and location great but next time we will eat somewhere else but we would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Just returned after a weekend stay, staff great food good, but the hotel looks tired and needs an uplift little things, blubs out in the room and the bar area marks on walls etc etc not really acceptable when you are paying £109 per night for bed and breakfast you expect everything to be spot on, we travel in the area quite a lot but due to the reasons I have stated we will think twice before we stop there again

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in April. Staff incredibly helpful and friendly although dinner menu not the best for vegetarians. Excellent location, we highly recommend the walk along the river and the beautiful white sand beach hidden behind the sand dunes just 15 minutes walk away from the hotel. We used the hotel as a base to visit Lindisfarne and Alnwick castles, both of which were beautiful and interesting. (Alnwick more so for kids i.e. broomstick flying classes)

Room Tip: Room 3, overlooked the main road but still very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Firstly, we stayed in a newly renovated room which was stunning!! The bed sheets and mattress were so comfortable I was even tempted to oversleep!

The bathroom was exceptional with excellent workmanship and beautiful fittings!!

The main corridor carpet, although clean was a little dark for my liking and one shade on the ceiling could do with replacing as it looked tired but I may just be being picky here!

Breakfast was exceptional and the customer service was fantastic!!

The whole experience was lovely.

The only downside was the lack of car parking although on street parking hay have been an option.

Thank you for a lovely stay!


  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Warkworth House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warkworth House Hotel

Address: 16 Bridge Street, Warkworth, Amble NE65 0XB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Amble > Warkworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Warkworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warkworth House Hotel has recently changed ownership and is now a small family run hotel. We have have started to make big improvements throughout the hotel. Our rooms each have a personal touch with luxury bedding and big soft pillows that you can sink your head in to. Our aim is to provide a cosy, friendly relaxed atmosphere where our guests can feel perfectly at home and will want to return again and again. The hotel is an ideal base for those wishing to explore Alnwick, Alnmouth, Warkworth and the Northumberland Coast. Excellent restaurant & bar serving locally sourced food. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Warkworth House Hotel Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warkworth House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.