We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel close to beach and castles” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Warkworth House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Warkworth House Hotel to your Saves list
Warkworth House Hotel
16 Bridge Street, Warkworth, Amble NE65 0XB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Warkworth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bushey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel close to beach and castles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in April. Staff incredibly helpful and friendly although dinner menu not the best for vegetarians. Excellent location, we highly recommend the walk along the river and the beautiful white sand beach hidden behind the sand dunes just 15 minutes walk away from the hotel. We used the hotel as a base to visit Lindisfarne and Alnwick castles, both of which were beautiful and interesting. (Alnwick more so for kids i.e. broomstick flying classes)

Room Tip: Room 3, overlooked the main road but still very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    44
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
16
97
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Firstly, we stayed in a newly renovated room which was stunning!! The bed sheets and mattress were so comfortable I was even tempted to oversleep!

The bathroom was exceptional with excellent workmanship and beautiful fittings!!

The main corridor carpet, although clean was a little dark for my liking and one shade on the ceiling could do with replacing as it looked tired but I may just be being picky here!

Breakfast was exceptional and the customer service was fantastic!!

The whole experience was lovely.

The only downside was the lack of car parking although on street parking hay have been an option.

Thank you for a lovely stay!


  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed here for three nights in April and found the hotel and staff excellent.
The only complaint is that it is a dog friendly hotel and nothing wrong with that except we decided to have our evening meal in the bar one evening as we were the only 2 people in the restaurant the evening before. There were no less than 4 dogs in the bar and it is not a big bar, as I said nothing wrong with dogs but I did not enjoy eating my meal with the strong smell of wet dog.
I think that if dogs are aloud into the bar where people are eating then I think the owners of the dogs should at least be aware of this, if their dog has been swimming in the sea or river and they intend visiting the hotel for their evening meal they should ensure their pets have been cleaned after swimming.
The hotel owners should be aware of this also.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

From the first time you walk into the hotel you are made to feel welcome. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. The room we had was large and clean and had the largest bed we have had the UK. There are two menus to choice from, the bar menu and the restaurant. Both offer good food at a realistic price. I can recommend this hotel whether you are looking for a place to stay or to eat.

Room Tip: Room 7 is a suite room with a large bed a good size on-suite and is at the back of the hotel away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Lovely friendly welcome - dog included. Clean and warm. Food looked good although we only wanted drinks but we would return and stay here as it was so welcoming and ideally located in beautiful Warkworth

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Stayed two days had a great stay, room nice and clean. Two lads who work in the restaurant and on the desk had great customer service, food was good. Some decor is bit grubby in the daylight but thats just nitpicking, Would come again

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Cozy hotel built in an old coach house in a quaint little northern England seaside village. Warm rooms and comfy beds combined with friendly service make this one of our favourite hotels in the whole of England.

A yummy breakfast which is filling but not overdone rounded off a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Warkworth House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warkworth House Hotel

Address: 16 Bridge Street, Warkworth, Amble NE65 0XB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Amble > Warkworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Warkworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warkworth House Hotel has recently changed ownership and is now a small family run hotel. We have have started to make big improvements throughout the hotel. Our rooms each have a personal touch with luxury bedding and big soft pillows that you can sink your head in to. Our aim is to provide a cosy, friendly relaxed atmosphere where our guests can feel perfectly at home and will want to return again and again. The hotel is an ideal base for those wishing to explore Alnwick, Alnmouth, Warkworth and the Northumberland Coast. Excellent restaurant & bar serving locally sourced food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Warkworth House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warkworth House Hotel Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warkworth House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.