We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a lovely village” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Warkworth House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Warkworth House Hotel to your Saves list
Warkworth House Hotel
16 Bridge Street, Warkworth, Amble NE65 0XB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Warkworth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cumbria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in a lovely village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Just had a two night mid week stay at this hotel and couldn't fault it. We stayed in room 2 which is on the main road and although it can be noisy in the day it is quiet at night and had no problem sleeping in the large, very comfortable bed. The room was large with a lounge area and tastefully decorated. We had pre-dinner drinks in the bar which was warm and welcoming, particularly on a cold spring day. We intended to eat in their restaurant one night and then try a local pub for evening meal the second night, however, the food in the restaurant was so good that we ate there both nights. I can highly recommend the halibut and the sea bass for the main meal and the homemade cheesecake was delicious. My husband had the rib eye steak which was cooked to perfection ( which is often hit and miss in many places) We will definitely stay at this hotel again when next visiting Northumberland. Warkworth is such a lovely, quaint village and well worth a visit.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    44
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
16
97
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We arrived on foot as part of a walking holiday. The bags had arrived ahead of us and were carried to the room for us. Everything about the quality of furniture and fittings was excellent. The staff were attentive, knowledgeable but not overbearing. It was a pleasure to see the bar had a good selection of real (and local) beers. The food was excellent both for dinner and breakfast.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms face onto a busy road which is thankfully quiet at night. I suspect listing/planni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely break at this hotel. Lovely big comfy rooms. Spotless and good service. Good value too.
Brilliant spot for a lovely break there are some lovely walks by the riverside the castle is worth a vIsIt and you can walk or drive to a lovely sandy beach.. Will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Since being taken over this is a lovely place for a relaxing meal Although l have not seen the rooms l have been told they are good. Gives this a go its lovely for Sunday lunch. Enjoy the stting as well as the hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turriff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed here beginning of March for three nights. The staff were friendly, the room was comfortable with a lovely bed. We ate in the hotel every night and were not disappointed by either the quality or the quantity. The new owners deserve to do well. Warkworth is a lovely village and very near to a lot of beautiful walks and places to visit and this hotel is an ideal place to stay to appreciate this area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This comfortable hotel, in the coastal village of Warkworth, is highly recommended for a short break or a longer holiday. We stayed on a very cold, wintry weekend and found it to be a marvelous escape from the elements.
The rooms are well equipped, clean and welcoming. The bar and residents' lounge are good places to relax.
The very attractive restaurant is a delightful place to enjoy a delicious meal. The choice on the menu is very good and the food is of an exceptionally high standard in both quality and presentation.
The car parking facility is excellent.
We can not praise the staff enough. They make guests feel valued and important. Everyone was polite and courteous. Nothing was a trouble to them.
The hotel is well located for access to the wonderful Northumbrian beaches and countryside. The mystical island of Lindisfarne is within easy access, while a visit to Alnwick is a short car journey away .Warkworth itself has a number of good quality gift shops, coffee shops, galleries and a chocolaterie.
We look forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: Rooms 3 & 4 are bright and airy and refurbished to a high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

My husband & I enjoyed a fantastic 2 night break at the beginning of February. We stayed in Room 2, which was amazing, more like a suite with a huge bed & separate seating area, overlooking the Main Street. It was so comfortable we didn't want to move! We ate in the restaurant both nights. The food was delicious, & the service excellent. Breakfast was superb & plentiful, with a choice of hot & cold food.
Warkworth offered it's usual delights of amazing views & charming walks around the village - we never wanted it to end.
But we will be back, & would definitely stay at the Warkworth house again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Warkworth House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warkworth House Hotel

Address: 16 Bridge Street, Warkworth, Amble NE65 0XB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Amble > Warkworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Warkworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warkworth House Hotel has recently changed ownership and is now a small family run hotel. We have have started to make big improvements throughout the hotel. Our rooms each have a personal touch with luxury bedding and big soft pillows that you can sink your head in to. Our aim is to provide a cosy, friendly relaxed atmosphere where our guests can feel perfectly at home and will want to return again and again. The hotel is an ideal base for those wishing to explore Alnwick, Alnmouth, Warkworth and the Northumberland Coast. Excellent restaurant & bar serving locally sourced food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Warkworth House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warkworth House Hotel Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warkworth House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.