We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roxbro House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Roxbro House to your Saves list
Roxbro House
5 Castle Terrace, Warkworth, Amble NE65 0UP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Warkworth B&B and Inns
Middlesbrough
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

There is little to add to the many fabulous reviews on this site other than to say that it more than lived up to our very high expectations having seen all the positive comments. Since taking early retirement a couple of years ago we have travelled extensively both abroad and in the U.K. and this (the Ethel Noble) is probably the nicest room we have stayed in. En suites are so often tiny areas with no space to swing a cat but here the bathroom was a very large and completely separate room with huge power shower and olde worlde bathtub.
Breakfasts were outstanding and there was such a vast choice both from the cold buffet and the cooked menu. Chef Stu's Roxbro Rosti was an absolute delight. He and Claire seem to have found the perfect formula and they are currently offering discounted room rates which are great value for money. We hope to return in the near future to spend more time in this beautiful area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    38
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
451
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We have not stayed in a B&B for many a year prefering lavish hotels and the comfort they offer........ well this is no B&B!!! We stayed in The Owners' Suite. This place out did many of the hotels we have stayed in. The room was perfect, very clean and an attention to detail that you would expect in a 5* plus hotel. Breakfast was delicious and the whole stay was thoroughly enjoyable. The reviews and accolade Roxboro House has achieved on here is fully deserved. We will return!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We very much enjoyed three nights at Roxbro House. The Owners' Suite was very comfortable, the breakfasts superb and we also enjoyed a picnic hamper supper one night. There is lots to do in the area, and Warkworth also has plenty of places for food and drink. The location is good for activities on the doorstep or as a base for exploring further afield. The honesty bar and whisky room are noce touches, and we felt very welcome.

Room Tip: The Owners' Suite with its own lounge is very comfortable and the extra space is useful if you h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed at Roxbro House for one night. There really is nothing I can add to all the great reviews posted on this site - you need to try it for yourself! You will not be disappointed. This is nothing like an average B&B - more like a small luxury hotel - so much so you are loathe to leave the room and explore the lovely coastal walks and other attractions nearby. Clare is a perfect host and both her and Stu deserve all the accolades they receive. There was only one downside for us - we could not stay for longer but hopefully we will be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Roxbro as a stopover whilst driving back to London from a 4 day stay at Gleneagles in Perthshire. We were so impressed that we delayed returning home and stayed an extra night. Need I say more.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Made a last minute booking and turned up a few hours later, and am very pleased with our choice, and with the greeting from Claire, the owner, who gave us a guided tour. A fantastic place, hardly a b&b in the traditional sense - far, far more than that. Two great sitting rooms to chill in, with a whiskey bar, beers, cakes and DVDs to help yourself to, plus bedroom picnics prepared if you want them instead of going out for an evening meal. Lovely rooms, very well specced and very good breakfasts too, particularly for a hard to please veggie! 24 hour access for all guests and free parking right outside. Warkworth is lovely too, not everywhere's open early in the week but there's enough to do within the vicinity day and night for a short break at the very least and the beach is huge. Would gladly have stayed longer.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster,England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed in The Ethel Noble Room and my son in the twin bedroom on the same floor which gave us exclusive use of that floor.

We have stayed in many of the top 5 star hotels both in the UK and overseas and this beautiful bed and breakfast matches them. From Claire's welcome on arrival, the quality furnishings throughout the property, the breakfast choice to the location made for a fantastic visit. When visiting the area again we will have no hesitation in staying once again.

The two lounges are so tranquil - you could spend hours just sat in one of them reading a book.

The honesty bar in one of the lounges with very reasonably priced drinks is a lovely touch with complimentary cakes.

We overlooked Warkworth Castle and were only a couple of minutes walk from the main street in Warkworth that is a delightful place to visit - time has stood still here-enjoy.

Thank you.

Alan Hope

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Roxbro House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roxbro House

Address: 5 Castle Terrace, Warkworth, Amble NE65 0UP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Amble > Warkworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Warkworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roxbro House is a stylish, intimate Victorian House offering the very best in luxurious Five star accommodation. Our award winning breakfasts offer something to tempt all palates and are available at a time of your own choice. Daily newspapers and room service are always available. We offer mouthwatering evening meals on certain days and delicious traditional afternoon teas. Indulgent treats, champagne, handmade truffles and romantic treats and our fantastic in house bar are just a sample of what we offer our guests. Special offers are frequently available! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Roxbro House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roxbro House Hotel Warkworth
Roxbro House Warkworth, Northumberland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roxbro House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.