We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pub Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hermitage Inn

The Hermitage Inn
23 Castle Street | NE65 0UL, Warkworth, Amble, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 9 Restaurants in Warkworth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pub Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Extrodinary food, such good value and a friendly. atmosphere. Clean toilets, staff are proficient and helpful. Parking is nearby in Castle Square, Excellent.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    110
    54
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“OKish”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I have to be honest that we did eat here twice - once lunch and once dinner. Having been in the trade myself for many years I find that the pub has gone Chalk Board mad which makes it look cheap. If they concentrated on a smaller menu and got rid of the chalk boards, this pub would be far busier and attract more people. Sorry but the pub looks dingy and desparate which is a shame as you clearly have good chefs who can deliver on quality.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent scones!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely steak meal one evening but were also intrigued by the various scones on offer. Unfortunately we were too full after eating so returned the following afternoon for welcome coffee and scones after a walk in the snow. I had crystallised ginger scone, served warm with cream, jam and butter whilst my partner enjoyed a maraschino cherry one. A thriving pub in a small village.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Lovely!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We ate here twice on a weekend visit to the area. Warm, welcoming and good food. The landlord was a nice chap and the locals seemed friendly. Great.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing -- definitely wouldn't go back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Ate on a Saturday night. Good atmosphere and looked promising even though menu is a bit dull. Ordered scallops, which you wouldn't think were difficult nowadays, but both of our portions were ridiculously overccooked and rubbery. Service was perfunctory at best and complaining about the scallops drew a complete blank from both waiter and barman. Overpriced for very mediocre food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hermitage Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Hermitage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hermitage Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.