We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely coffee and cake....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Topsey Turvey

Topsey Turvey
Dial Place | NE65 0UG, Warkworth, Amble, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 9 Restaurants in Warkworth
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Whitehills, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lovely coffee and cake....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Lovely cafe in beautiful Warkworth. Lemon meringue pie and raspberry roulade were both homemade and delicious. Noticed others having fish soup - which looks amazing. Will need to try it next time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    31
    13
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Nice food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Certainly enjoyed the food here. I had the fish soup. It was very tasty and hearty. The cakes are very nice. The decor needs a little attention, but don't let that put you off.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Be aware of credit card charges”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Visited this restaurant on Sunday not the first time we have been here but felt need to make people aware (because they don't) of charge for using credit card. Having asked if they took credit cards I would have thought they could have made me aware then that they would charge me £1 on a £22.50 bill but I only became aware when asking for the bill although they did tell me there was a free cash machine at the Post Office. Wherever that is.
Food OK although chips weren't fresh ie frozen/chilled (and we had asked if everything was home made), my wife's beef dinner was drowned in a thick glutinous gravy. When will the cafe/ restaurants learn not everyone wants there dinner drowned in gravy. Better give it in a gravy boat so the diner can decide how much they want.
Overall memorable for the wrong reasons. Would I go back yes but not in a hurry it was alright.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Christmas Spirit is Here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We initially called in to buy some takeaway sandwiches, however, the warmth of the cafe and the spectacular Christmas decorations, especially the white ceiling decor, persuaded us to sit and stay.
The waitress was very pleasant and welcoming. We had our 3 year old granddaughter with and we were pleasantly surprised by the size of her fish fingers and chips portion for £3.75. The menu had sufficient variety, catering for most hungry needs. The homemade cakes looked particularly appetising and appealing. Unfortunately we are both on a diet so all we could do was stare and drool. The cafe has no pretensions, it is a fairly basic family cafe, however, it has a nice cozy and welcoming atmosphere, producing good home cooked food. The only criticism I can level is that the tables are a little to close and would benefit in the slow season to take away a table or two. There were only three tables in use during our visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I visit this cosy little restaurant whenever I am in Warkworth with my family. We have enjoyed many evening meals and Sunday lunches here as well as snacks. The roast lamb is a favourite...cooked to perfection. A trip to Warkworth would not be complete without a visit to Topseys. We have some very pleasant memories of happy times spent here. Margaret is a very good hostess with a wicked sense of humour. It is worth mentioning, they also sell food to take out.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Topsey Turvey also viewed

 
Warkworth, Amble
 

Been to Topsey Turvey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Topsey Turvey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.