We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every superlative you can think of” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bower at Broulee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Bower at Broulee to your Saves list
The Bower at Broulee
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2352 George Bass Drive, Broulee, New South Wales 2537, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Broulee B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Every superlative you can think of”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We have just spent three nights here, as part of our honeymoon travels.
We can agree with all the positive comments that have already been made
We will add that it's great to be simply left alone to enjoy the peace, quiet and wildlife. We knew we could contact the team at the Bower if we needed anything, but to not have to contend with daily housekeeping etc was a delight. We felt perfectly at home in our cabin, and secure enough in our little bit of wilderness to make use of the outdoor shower!
Romance is a key part of a stay here - candles, spa baths big enough for two and huge beds help create a poetic environment. We can't gush enough about this place, aside from encouraging you to stay here and experience it for yourself.
Don't forget that with every stay you get a free visit from the local wildlife

Room Tip: All rooms are located in their own piece of the Forrest. All are luxurious and come with visits from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bower9, Owner at The Bower at Broulee, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to give us this feedback AusOnTour,
We're chuffed that you chose The Bower and enjoyed your stay as a memorable part of your honeymoon travels [and BTW congratulations] You kept that a secret ! :-)
In any case, we try to be the invisible hosts, [welcome you on arrival, be there if and only if needed], but allow you absolute privacy to enjoy the company of your partner.
If we achieved that, Mission Accomplished !
Warm regards,
Mark, Sue & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
53
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

A favorite place of ours when on the south coast. Self-contained & very private bungalows ensure a romantic getaway for couples. We have stayed both in summer & winter and have never been disappointed. Happy to share recommendation - though a bit reluctant if this will make reservations more difficult!

Room Tip: Stock up on groceries, so that you do not have to leave during your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bower9, Owner at The Bower at Broulee, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thanks Jacqui M,
Thanks so much for your supportive words. We really do appreciate you taking the trouble to comment on our offering and recommend us to others. It makes the challenges all the more worthwhile!
In relation to future reservations, our 'friendly' bank is already telling us that we need to either increase our rates or cut back on our servicing costs, even at our current rate of bookings ... so unless we stay busy, we'll be forced into either [or both] of those strategies, which we would like to avoid.... especially cutting back on our service levels !
However, we're always happy to accept a tentative advance booking, with flexibility in your final dates, as long as you can give us at least 2 weeks notice for a postponement, or even a cancellation, if needed. This offer applies to our guests who book direct with us the Bower. [Let us know you found out about this offer us on Tripadvisor].
Cheers,
Mark & Sue
The Bower at Broulee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

the bower ticks all the right boxes! It is our favourite place to stay on the south coast. it really is a small piece of heaven. do yourself a favour & visit. this was our second time here & I can promise, there will be a third!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowerBirds, Owner at The Bower at Broulee, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Tasha100910,

Thankyou so much for your kind words. As explained before, our team takes the time and works very hard to make your stay as comfortable and relaxing as possible. It's very rewarding to read you appreciated the attention to detail and all the little extras.

We look forward to welcoming you both again !

Warm regards,
Mark & Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I can only ditto all the fabulous reviews others have written. We had a magical three night stay. The (gold) bower was private, comfortable and a great environment for relaxing. There are some nice paths for short bush walks - if you can tear yourself away from the double spa, wood fire, or bush views from the deck. It was well equipped (including slippers, which are a must for the concrete floors), with all the little thoughtful things provided - candles, BBQ, tin foil, bowl of fruit, fire wood and a hearty platter of breakfast goods.
We will be back - but for longer next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowerBirds, General Manager at The Bower at Broulee, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Xanthe_75,

Thanks so much for your positive feedback.
It really helps keep our morale up when trying to maintain high standards in the face of the challenges of running a very small business in the face of bureaucratic obstructions in addition to dealing with the predatory tactics of some of the corporations that we find ourselves obliged to deal with !

Thanks again for your encouragement, and yes, if you can afford the time for a longer stay, please check our longer term multi-night stay special rates.

Warm regards,
Mark & Sue
The Bower
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Our recent stay in the Red Bower at Bower at Broulee was truly memorable, thanks to the top notch accommodation, beautifully peaceful surroundings and friendly wildlife.

We were visited by laughing kookaburras, friendly Rosellas, cheeky Lorikeets, cute red-browed finches and there was even an echidna and wallaby to grace the scene. It really was special being able to watch or hand feed (with the supplied bird seed) the beautiful and abundant birds.

Throughout the Bower : The bathroom was terrific with a double spa and double shower (huge). Soaking in the spa whilst looking through the giant window into the bushland ferns and trees was a lovely experience. The kitchen was smart, functional and included a microwave, dishwasher, coffee machine and ample breakfast, tea and coffee supplies. The lounge was comfortable and sitting in front of the lit fireplace on a rainy afternoon (as it was when we arrived) relaxed you straight away. The bedroom had a super comfortable king sized bed with drawers and some hanging space with four coat hangers.

The sound system covered every room which was a great touch and the whole bower inside and outside on the decking with the BBQ and very comfortable lounge chairs ensured that you relaxed and were rejuvenated during your stay.

I would recommend the Bower at Broulee to my friends and family, especially those looking for a little romance and a place to unwind and enjoy the beautiful surroundings and wildlife of the great southern coast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowerBirds, General Manager at The Bower at Broulee, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Hi jennim438,

It is always gratifying to see that people appreciate the "blood, sweat & tears" that invariably goes into a project like this ! We're delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Bower. As usual, we've passed on you comments to the team, who work very hard in the background to ensure your comfort while guests are staying with us.

We look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.

Kindest regards,
mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

From the moment we arrived at The Bower, and speaking with Mark, we were impressed by their desire for our time there to be one we wouldn't forget. We could tell that our enjoyment there was also important to them.
Once we got to our apartment, and noticed how secluded it was from other apartments, we felt that we were in for a great 4 nights. We had hoped that we would get to enjoy the birdlife that we had seen on The Bower's website, and this will remain one of our special memories. Having the various birds coming to feed on our private deck, and even have some feeding from our hand, just added to how special our time there was.
To keep it short, we have no hesitation in recommending The Bower, especially to any couples needing some time alone away from the busyness of life. We will certainly be recommending it to our friends.
Thank you Mark and Sue for providing such a retreat.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowerBirds, General Manager at The Bower at Broulee, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thanks RodandKaren,

Your words ...

"we have no hesitation in recommending The Bower, especially to any couples needing some time alone away from the busyness of life"

... is music to our ears, as that is precisely what we set out to achieve in our offering at The Bower, when we set out on the project 20 years ago !

We do appreciate your kind words and support in recommending The Bower to your friends. We also look forward to 'hosting' you again whenever you have the opportunity to get away for another Recharge together at The Bower break.

Warm regards,
Mark & Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

10/10! Mark and Sue have done it again. Mark and Sue are ever so welcoming and approachable. Nothing is too hard and they truly know how to enjoy the tranquility of The Bower's settings.

This is Josh and my second time back and again sensational!! This time we were celebrating our engagement and what a way to relax, unwind and enjoy the peace and quiet.

As always, you arrive with beautiful background soothing music playing throughout the Bower (as they have a music integration system throughout), champagne in the fridge along with gourmet breakfast for your first morning.

Amazing points to paint you a picture of this place:
* there are 5 individual Bowers (with some different layouts)
* your closest Bower neighbour is over 200m away so you never have the invasion of privacy (except by the local native wildlife but I am sure they feel like we are all fitting in? :) )
* there are King sized beds that make you feel like you are sleeping on a cloud every night
* single fridge with freezer
* top loader washing machine (detergent/powder all suuplied)
* dryer
* microwave
* fan forced oven
* electric cooktop
* dishwasher (detergent/powder all supplied)
* sound system that links to the TV, iPod dock, DVD player and radio (not a blu-ray player)
* hugh corner couch that I would say 2 adults can comfortably stretch out on without touching one another
* wood fireplace (wood is all supplied, along with matches and those fire starter white cubes... makes it so easy to get the fire going)
* a container of parrot seed is supplied... can get top ups from the Office if you splurge on the feeding... hee hee...)
* a huge two person spa in the bathroom
* double headed walk-in rain showers
* ample lighting (with different mood options) throughout the Bower... my favourite is the outside night up-lighting in the trees so you can enjoy the company of the possum and rare Sugar Glider
* fans and air conditioning
* robes and slippers

What you should consider packing as nice additions:
* mince to hand feed the Kookburras, magpies, Currawongs and Superb Wrens with
* bread for the wallabies (nocturnal) and Rainbow Lorrikeets (day dwellers)
* iPod or CDs for your favourite relaxing music (even though there is some playing when you arrive)
* your favourite drinkies
* camera
* books
* DVDs if you wish
* walking shoes to enjoy the lovely walks around The Bower and Broulee
* if you are a light sleeper and wake easily from light then do pack your sleeping mask... this place really allows you to feel as though you are a part of the outdoors (not a bad thing at all as it increases the relaxing and beauty of this place)

Want to get additional pampering (this comes highly recommended as we have done this 4 times now):
* book Amy from the Broulee Wellness Centre for a massage... she will come to your Bower to do the massage... Josh and I both agree she is one of the best masseuers we have ever experienced so totally book in advance to have the wonderful experience 10/10

Yes, the wildlife is super friendly as they, like us, love food. The Rosella's are the ones that tend to bite you to get you to drop the seed but aside from that, they are beautiful and will love the pressies of food you give them. The possum and Grey Wallabies (noctural) love the corn in the bird seed and will crunch on them at night - usually from the bird house feeder you have. Aside from that the wildlife will not hurt you as they are more afraid than we are. So enjoy the serenity.

You can totally relax and let go of time here! You can unwind in the peacefulness of the surroundings and get back to nature. Absolute bliss!!

Josh and I cannot wait to be back again! Do book if you need to unwind and totally recharge!!!! Oustanding!!!

Room Tip: All the Bowers are amazing... any one of them is a 10/10 stay and your closest Bower neighbour is 20...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowerBirds, Owner at The Bower at Broulee, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Hi again LozandJosh,

We were delighted to have you back to celebrate your engagement. May you have many more reasons to celebrate in the years ahead !!

Thanks also for mentioning Amy and her team at The Broulee Wellness Centre. They are indeed a great service that we are delighted to be able to recommend. I will be sure to share your feedback with Amy and the whole bower birds team so they can see how their attention to detail and commitment to customer service is appreciated.

They love knowing that our guests appreciate their service.

Thanks also for sharing the amazing photo's you took while staying at The Bower. They are some of the best shots that have ever been taken of the Bower and we were delighted that you gave us permission to use them on the bower website and facebook page.
Thanks again & best regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bower at Broulee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bower at Broulee

Address: 2352 George Bass Drive, Broulee, New South Wales 2537, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Broulee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Broulee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bower at Broulee 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed for couples to enjoy a romantic interlude which you will cherish for years to come ... Sip sparkling Australian wine in your private spa, dine by candlelight warmed by the log fire in Winter, or under the stars on your own secluded timber deck, surrounded by Australian native forest and fauna. The Bower at Broulee is located on the New South Wales South Coast, 4 hours drive South of Sydney and 2 hours East of Canberra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your The Bower at Broulee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bower at Broulee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.