We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palm Island Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Island Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Palm Island Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palm Island Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Palm Island | St. Vincent & The Grenadines, Union Island   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 35%!
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Union Island
Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Palm Island Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My husband and I returned last week from a 10-night stay at Palm Island. This was our 5th or 6th trip (lost count, sorry!). Obviously, we have always enjoyed it, and many of the guests are repeats, which says a lot about the property.

It's a beautiful island, about 3 miles circumferentially. There are trails, sandy roads, and walkways throughout the island for those who want to explore among the accommodations and beyond the hotel. There are some privately-owned houses on the island, and a resident doctor (French) and his family. He's an artist and has provided the sealife paintings found in the rooms and elsewhere around the resort.

The only animal you're likely to encounter are the iguanas, who live in the trees and come out during the heat of the day. Some are quite big, but they're harmless. Younger ones are a bright green -- older ones a gray color with black stripes around their tails. Fun to watch, and occasionally one will show up at meal time in the restaurant to beg (this is usually "George"). There're many birds on the island, some of which also visit the restaurants to swipe food and try to foil the best efforts of management to keep them out. Seems as if water pistols work better than the high tech solutions! They're there at breakfast and lunch, are not really a problem, and it's fun to watch their efforts to evade being shooed away.

The beach is big and beautiful, with plenty of shade for those who want it. Surf is small, nearly non-existent (barring a storm). Beach never seems crowded. So-so snorkeling at one end of the beach. Better snorkeling at the Tobago Cays where there is also an underwater sea turtle sanctuary. Several operators and the resort offer trips to the Cays and it's worth the trip. We always enjoy the trip on the Tornado, out of Union. They pick up at the resort. Make arrangements at the resort's reception area. You'll be provided with a list of other sightseeing/boating/resort opportunities.

The property is nicely landscaped and planted thanks to the hard work of Tash and his co-workers -- many palm trees and other exotic-looking plants. Consider taking his short tour of the island to see what's going on in his "botanical" world. The pretty pool is removed from the beach and is a nice respite and change from the beach for the occasional visit. Again, never crowded.

There's a lot to be said for a small resort besides not being "wall-to-wall" people. One of our favorite aspects of Palm is the great people we meet there. The round bar next to the restaurant is a favorite gathering place pre- and post-dinner and conducive to mingling and getting to know one another. Guests are mainly from the U.K., U.S. and Canada. Nothing ever seems crowded, and no waiting lines anywhere. Entertainment is provided most evenings, but low-key, not loud rock music. Great bartenders -- Kenneth and Kendol are great -- extremely good at their jobs, entertaining, and fun to be around. Get there early if you want a seat at the bar.

We always stay in one of the beachfront rooms along the walk, closest to the beach. All rooms are air-conditioned, but in these rooms, it's not really needed. Just open the windows, turn on the fans and fall asleep listening to the rather quiet sound of the surf (assuming no storms). Patios outside the rooms provide a great place to wind down after swimming, before or after dinner, etc.

We cannot say enough good things about the staff at Palm. Everyone is friendly, helpful, efficient, and do their best to please. Say "Hi" to Margaret in the restaurants and to Alex, who seems to be an endless source of information (ask about the weird-looking flag at the Sunset from the "Isle of Man"). And, try out the alternate restaurant -- the Sunset Grill -- where occasionally the "boat people" come ashore to eat. They serve lunch there every day and dinner on some evenings (make reservations for dinner). You'll see sailboats, cats, and the occasional small yacht anchored offshore during your visit, but they anchor farther out than the swimming area and are not intrusive. Boat people can use the beach, but not any facilities of the restaurant except for the Sunset Grill.

When traveling, be careful about times and connections. You must land at Union before dark since there are no lights on the runway. So far, we have managed to make it to Palm in one day (a long one) from the Washington, D.C. area, but many U.S. guests have to overnight on Barbados. It's worth it!!

Palm is the perfect get-away for sheer relaxation, good (not gourmet) food, great bar drinks and beauty. Any questions?!

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are great; however, if you don't like the sound of surf at night, don't re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    589
    124
    35
    16
    9
See reviews for
50
554
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Titusville, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

We returned to Palm Island almost exactly a year to the day that we went last year. I was worried that I had built it up so much in my mind over the past 12 months that we were going to be disappointed. Not so, it was even better than I remembered.

First of all, the staff is unbelievable. They remembered us from last year even though it was our first time there! Grafton is the epitome of professionalism. Kenneth, Kevin, Shirley, Kiashonta and Madonna made our trip so enjoyable. I can't wait to see them again next year. This is one of those rare places that even though we only visit once a year it feels like home.


Next, we requested a beachfront room near the dock and got it along with a bottle of champagne and fresh fruit since we were return guests. The weather was perfect as usual, the food was great and the relaxation was the best part of all. If you are looking for a place to get away from it all and chill with your significant other, this is it. We have been looking for our perfect place in the Caribbean for years and have finally found it. No tv, no phones, no computer, what more could you ask for?

Lastly, unlike last year we got our lazy butts off of the beach and took an excursion this year. We took the Yannis to the Tobago Cays for snorkeling. When is the last time you swam with sea turtles? Unbelievable experience along with all the amazing fish we saw among the coral.

Finally, as much as I don't want to spread the word because we want to keep this place as pristine as it is, GO GO GO! It is a
place you will find yourself missing as soon as you leave.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorganBayStLucia, Guest Relations Manager at Palm Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

Over the moon that you had such a great visit! Our staff is one of our greatest assets and we were thrilled to know that they delivered beyond expectations. And, quite frankly, our goal is to create a "home away from home" so clearly, we have made it so. And, yes, despite the fact that you want to keep this little secret...please don't!

Cannot wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, NC
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Rooms – Large Rooms with Large bathrooms. It had a huge tub and separate large shower. There was a large sitting area inside the room. There was a refrigerator that was stocked well. The room was kept clean and someone was there at least twice a day to take care of it. On the outside we had our own porch with lounge chairs, table and umbrella.
Beach – Very nice. Lots of room with plenty of chairs for everyone. Not very crowded. There are plenty of views from the beach to see. Union Island along with other islands were in close view. Huge yachts pass thru and some drop anchor off the island. The wait staff comes by and checks on you on the beach making sure you have plenty to drink.
Island – Very well laid out. There are three hills to climb and have great views. There is also plenty of wildlife to see. There are 3 places to snorkel but only two were safe this time of year as the Atlantic side was very rough. We went snorkeling quite a bit. There is a tour you can take of the island and I would take it on the first day so you know where to go during the rest of your stay.
Staff – outstanding. Everyone of their staff members were extremely friendly and absolutely grateful you’re there. They keep all the facilities spotless, they even rake between the walkways every day. There was a few staff that went the additional extra mile. The management is dedicated to serving the guest and stop by every night during dinner to check on you.
Food – the best word to describe this is FRESH. The food was authentic Caribbean food and the chef did a great job. I didn’t have one single bad meal. They offered a wide range of food from Beef, Poultry and Fish. I normally hate fish but I loved the Lobster, Mahi, Marlin and Tilapia.
Things to do – Kayaks, bikes, snorkel equipment, and hobby cats with lessons were included. You could go do different excursions for extra money but it was difficult for us to want to leave the island as we were too content to leave.
Atmosphere – Laid back. Do as much as you want or relax as much as you want. The people who come to this island are there to meet others and have fun. This isn’t a party resort for college kids. We were on our honeymoon and we couldn’t have picked a better destination to have it.

Cons – US Airways and American Airlines getting you there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorganBayStLucia, Guest Relations Manager at Palm Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on Paml Island Resort & Spa. Exceeding expectations means we have done our job! Please let us know when we can welcome you back to enjoy our friendship and hospitatliy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This was our second visit having previously been about 7 years ago. Great location, never busy, food and drinks are great. This is one of the resorts that we go back to, the others being Galley Bay and Blue Waters.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield CT
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

It's hard to review this island, as I feel it varies so much from one extreme to the other.
For example, we stayed in the Southern Cross villa, which was spectacular. It's off my itself on the opposite end other island, and has 2 bedrooms, 2 baths and beautiful outdoor decks and living spaces. It's an open house, with birds, hummingbirds, iguanas all right outside the house. Just beautiful. The house comes with a golf cart which is needed to drive to the dock or restaurants.
Housekeeping was also superb and well done. The problems were with maintenance. Not to go into too many details, they ranged from somewhat annoying ( closet rods breaking, safes not opening, oven that didn't work ) to downright dangerous ( electrical issues which scared the hell out of me and hurt ) and caused us to have workmen at our very expensive villa for the first 3 days of our stay.
The other main problem is that the food was just not good. Really quite dreadful I am sorry to say. It was all inclusive and after 2 nights of dining there we decided life is too short, even if it was already included, and either bought food in to cook, or took a taxi to Union Island for dinner. Interestingly the wine choices were not bad. Lunch at the grill was a better bet with sometimes good catch of the day, sometimes not. The portions were laughably small, but it didn't matter after we tried the food.
We went to a nearby island for lunch a few days and it was fabulous. Expensive, but worth it.
We love the area and the Grenadine islands, which are stunning and unique and we will be returning next year. If Southern Cross Villa was offered as a rent alone villa we may consider it again, but if we have to pay for all inclusive and the food didn't improve, it's a deal breaker.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorganBayStLucia, Manager at Palm Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you so much for taking the time to read this management response. We greatly appreciate your time and the feedback we receive from all of our guests in our quest to provide a fantastic Caribbean holiday experience.

The safety and security of our guests is paramount and we are very sorry you experienced any difficulties during your stay. We endeavor to handle any and all issues in a very timely manner so that our guests are not inconvenienced or put at any risk. In addition to promptly attending to your particular issues we once again made a routine check of all rooms to ensure everything in all rooms was in good working order.

The vast majority of our guests greatly enjoy the dining experience at Palm Island. We strive to bring the freshest most innovative cuisine to our guests who consistently compliment our chefs on their creativity and great flavors.

We appreciate your very positive comments about our property in addition to your 4 out of 5 star rating. We look forward to seeing you once again in the spectacular Southern Cross Villa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Having vowed we would never go back to the same place twice we have just returned from our 4th visit to Palm Island and will certainly visit again in the future. The resort, apart from being in a stunning location with so many beautiful beaches to enjoy, has the added bonus of a very attentive, extremely hardworking and delightful Team who make you feel totally at home as soon as you step onto the quay. The resort seems to improve year on year and we found the service, particularly in the restaurants, near perfect, thanks to Noreen, Antionetta, Olive, Kashionta, Kevin, Alex and Grafton. We endorse all of the previous comments made about the resort and it speaks for itself when so many of the guests are returning year after year. We cannot wait to return and spend another wonderful relaxing holiday there. Well done to you all on Palm Island and you deserve all the complimentary remarks guests make!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I recently returned from a 7 night stay at Palm Island Resort. We enjoyed our stay there very much. To begin- The Grenadines are green jewels set in a cobalt and aquamarine sea. The region is reminiscent of the British Virgin Islands, and parts of French Polynesia. There are lots of small islands scattered about offering the perfect tropical island views.

Palm Island is a 135 acre island located just off of Union Island. We arrived on Union island via a 19 seat plane from Barbados (this is the common way to get to Palm island). The airport on Union island is tiny, and we cleared Customs and immigration in a few minutes. A Palm island representative received us, and drove us to the dock for the 10 minute boat ride to Palm island. We were greeted warmly by management, and were promptly shown to our room.

My wife and I opted for a "Palmview" room. We were in room 33. The room was very spacious, and was more than adequate for our needs with a few exceptions. The lighting in the room is inadequate, especially in the bathroom. The room has large wooden louvers on the windows. When the louvers were closed, it was like being in a dark cave- even with all of the lights turned on. We couldn't really leave the louvers open to let in some light without losing our privacy. The bathroom lighting was so dim, that it was hard to shave or apply makeup and see what we were doing. There was also no light in the shower stall.

The resort has its own electrical generators, and there was one issue that irked me: The electric clock in our room kept terrible time. At first we thought there was something wrong with our particular clock- it gained about 30 minutes a day. We asked for a new clock, and it had the same issue. It was at this point that I started wondering if the issue was not isolated to our room. I started asking other guests if they had the same problem with their clocks, and they did! Most people just shrugged it off, and unplugged their clocks- which is what we eventually did too. I thought that the management was a little blasé about the issue. In the end, it didn't really matter much as we were on vacation, and we weren't really adhering to a schedule.

Palm Island is designed as a place where you can turn off your mind, unwind and relax. There isn't a lot to do on the island, but that's good in a way. My wife and I got into the habit of taking a walk around the island every morning. There are five lovely sand beaches on the island, and we found a lot of shells. There are also five little hills- all with trails. We walked to the top of every hill- great places to take panoramic pictures. There is also a surprising amount of wildlife on the island, especially reptiles, and birds. There are a lot of large, Caribbean iguanas, and other types of lizards. All of the lizards are herbivorous, and not at all aggressive.

We enjoyed mornings on the beaches, and afternoons around the large swimming pool. The only issue we had with the beaches was the lack of good snorkeling. The wind was pleasantly cooling in the 85 degree weather, but it also caused the water to be a little choppy. There were also ocean currents. The wind and currents combined to make the water a little too murky for ideal snorkeling. Also- the corals around the island were not healthy looking. I don't know if global warming, and ocean acidification is the cause of the apparent die-off of the coral, or if something else is going on, but it's a shame either way you look at it. We were really looking forward to the snorkeling.

We took one excursion during our stay. We took a half day snorkeling cruise on the "Yannis" catamaran to the island of Mayreau, and the Tobago Cays. The Tobago Cays are renowned for the sea life that abounds there. We snorkeled with sea turtles, and saw a good amount of corals and fish. In won't say that this was the best snorkel destination I've seen, but it was worth the trip.

We would have liked to have seen more of the Grenadines, but there weren't a lot of other island excursions available, and we didn't want to pay the high prices of a private charter.

Palm Island resort is all-inclusive. Not everyone likes all-inclusives, but in this case it made sense. Palm Island is the only game in town (as it were). So it makes sense that it's all inclusive. It's nice not having to think about the cost of food and beverage- especially the alcohol. They had a nice selection of booze, and wine.

The food was average. There were a few bright spots on the always-changing menu. We enjoyed the dishes made with local ingredients. Also- the portions are very reasonably small. We were afraid that we would be walking away from the dining room bloated every night, but we were happily surprised with the small portions. Not everyone will feel the same, and in fact- there were a few nights we walked away still hungry. On the bright side- it made keeping our diets easy. The resort offered buffets on two occasions, and there was more than enough good food. We would have liked to have seen more vegetables on our plates, and we often had to ask for a salad. Strangely- there wasn't always a salad listed on the dinner menu, but thankfully, they were happy to oblige us with a salad when we asked.

The Sunset Grill and bar was a good choice for lunch. We would recommend the pizza. This restaurant also had a modest salad bar.

Palm island is designed with couples in mind. The resort doesn't allow children under 12, and we were happy to see no children at all during our stay. Most of the guests were of a mature age, and we were fine with the fact that most of the guests were older than us. We wanted a nice, quiet week, and that's what we got. Young honeymooners were apparent, but not abundant. If you're looking for some evening excitement, you might want to consider somewhere else. Again- we were happy with the peace and quiet.

We would have liked to see a better spa, but Palm island isn't a spa resort. We didn't see anyone go into the small, one room spa the entire week we were there.

My wife and I very much enjoyed our week at Palm Island Resort. I would recommend this resort to anyone wanting to really get away from the rat race.

Room Tip: The Palmview rooms aren't right on the beach, but many of these rooms offer views of the ocean a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palm Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Island Resort & Spa

Address: Palm Island | St. Vincent & The Grenadines, Union Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Union Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Union Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palm Island Resort & Spa 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Palm Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Island Hotel St. Vincent And The Grenadines
Palm Island Grenadines
Palm Island Resort & Spa St. Vincent And The Grenadines/Union Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Island Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.