We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Channel Lights Accommodation

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havelock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Channel Lights Accommodation
Save
You added Channel Lights Accommodation to your Saves list
18 Cook St., Havelock, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Havelock B&B and Inns
England
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Stay here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

At the end of our tour of south island we wanted a luxury stop for a relaxing 3 night break before taking the Inter-Islander ferry from Picton and after much searching we chose Channel Lights in Havelock. We were delighted with our choice.

The previous stop had been in Punakaiki and it was a beautiful 4 ¾ hour drive to Havelock. When we arrived at Channel Lights it was mid-afternoon and our first sight of Channel Lights told us our choice was good. We were met by Philly and immediately felt very welcome and at home. She gave us lots of info about good places to eat etc. and showed us to our very spacious room it was delightful! A bottle of local wine chilling in the fridge was a lovely touch and after unpacking we took this to the outside garden area to enjoy a glass in the sunshine overlooking the marina.

Back to the room – it was one of the very best of our whole 7 week holiday. It was very large with a wonderfully comfortable 6ft bed and a soft leather 3 piece suite with two reclining armchairs set in front of the picture window. Once I had tried one of these I felt like not stirring from the room for the duration of our stay! There was a beautifully equipped kitchen area which was kept well supplied with everything we needed for breakfast. The bathroom was huge, modern and beautifully designed. All in all I wished our own bedroom was a replica of this one!

In addition to the luxury of the room, which wowed us, the owners went out of their way to make our stay memorable. Chris, Philly’s husband, has a water taxi business and he invited us to join him on a trip. We went out at lunchtime and returned (with a bucket of mussels) four hours later, it was fantastic! Then, in the evening we were invited to share mussels and wine with them and were later joined by family members; it was one of the most memorable evenings of the holiday ... thank you Philly and Chris!

Whilst at Channel Lights we ate out every night at the nearby Slip Inn, on the Marina. We loved the location and the food.

Overall, if we were ever in South Island again we would not miss a stay at Channel Lights, it is fantastic!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

We stumbled across this website by chance. Channel Lights is a delightful experience. We were made to feel most welcome from the moment we arrived. The accommodation is superb and beautifully clean. It was so relaxing sitting overlooking the harbour. Havelock is a great place to explore The Sounds. Our fantastic hosts Chris and Philippa cooked and shared green-lipped mussels over a glass of wine while we learnt more of the history of the area.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

Chris & Philippa Harvey were the most spectacular hosts with top quality accommodation to match. The view from our rooms were incredible and within walking distance to the local township and restaurants. We recommend a tour of the Sounds with Chris in his water Taxi; he gives you a great history of the area.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

My husband surprised me with a trip around the South Island to celebrate my 40th birthday. Channel Lights was by far the best place that we stayed. The rooms were immaculate, linens clean and surroundings were quiet and peaceful. We chose to have a home cooked dinner on our second night and Chris and Philippa were such gracious hosts and told us lots of stories of the Sounds. The next day Chris gave us a tour of the Sounds so we could see many of the places that they told us about. We capped off our time in the area with a wine tasting at some of the area vineyards. This was definitely a birthday worth remembering!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

We stayed at Channel Lights on our trip around the South Island and straight away you could tell this accommadation was a cut above the rest. The unit was spotless, welcoming and very comfortable. It was well appointed with a view looking down the channel (I could have sat there all day watching the boats come in and out). Our hosts Chris and Philly were very welcoming and knowledgeable about the area. While we were there we also went out on the Pelorus Sound Water Taxi that Chris owns and Skippers and had a fabulous look around the Sounds. We were sad to leave this magically spot and I would have to say it was the surprising but very welcomed highlight of our South Island trip.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Channel Lights Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channel Lights Accommodation

Address: 18 Cook St., Havelock, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Havelock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Havelock
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our accommodation offers two modern, comfortable apartment style rooms both with stunning views overlooking the Havelock marina and beyond. Channel Lights is an award winning home in Marlborough. The luxury apartments have king size beds, a comfortable sitting area and a small kitchen with a complimentary bottle of Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc in your fridge. Both rooms have luxurious en-suites, one of which has a large spa bath. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Channel Lights Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.