We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Life Savers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Havelock Motel and Motor Lodge

Save Saved
You added Havelock Motel and Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Havelock Motel and Motor Lodge
50 Main Road, Havelock 7100, New Zealand (Formerly Gateway To The Sounds Havelock Motel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay 3 pay for 2 nights
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Havelock
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Life Savers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We were in the middle of a camping expedition with three dogs when we got rained out near the Sounds. Out of desperation we stopped here to see if they could take us.

The Motels are dog friendly, something that more motels around the country should consider, we stayed two nights and had a great time. The units we stayed in were clean and tidy and there seemed to be a good range of accommodation from older to newer.

The pool area is really good with a high-quality fitout. It also includes a wooden hot tub mineral pool, which was excellent for the aches and pains.

It's next door to the local pub, but we didn't have any problems with noise, and its in the middle of Havelock so you have everything that you need.

The owners were friendly and helpful providing home baking as well. For free.

We'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    11
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
8
26
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

What a delightful place! Located within minutes' walk of the marina, the mail boat, the two major restaurants and several cafés and bars, the motel includes a comfortably heated pool. And, there is a Fa-bu-lous and soothing cedar hot tub! Its aromatic airs are as soothing and relaxing as the heated water.
The rooms are large, spotless and very well appointed. And, with huge windows, they are cheerfully bright. Oh yes, and the showers are great.
There are comfortable chairs outside, from which watch harbour life.
The energetic Kerri is ever cheerfully helpful. She also bakes and dispenses great cookies and a quick whit.
This is truly a delightful place to come back to after a day of exploring the Marlborough Sound region. We spent a mere three nights here, but could have spent a week, schedule permitting.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Purchased online vouchers for this stay here and we were impressed with the friendly and excellent service from Carrie (not sure if that's how her name is spelled). The room is spacious and well-equipped. Very clean and comfortable.
Really enjoyed my stay here and will indeed come back to this place again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This would be well up there as one of the cleanest motels we have stayed in. Our unit was spacious and very comfortable with large bathroom sporting a huge spa bath and separate shower. The heat pump was most welcome after a big day out with comfortable overnight heating should you need it. Comfortable beds, huge flat screen TV and more than adequate Continental Breakfast. Close to the water with lovely eating places a short walking distance away. Plenty to choose from. Va (?) works very hard, is very helpful and smiles the whole time. Thank you!

Room Tip: We were in one of the units attached to the Reception area and were very pleased with what we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed 3 months in this motel The staff and the owners were awesome. They offered us a great deal (unbeatable) for a studio with all the facilities. We would definitely recommend this place because it's clean, they have big rooms and those people are really helpful (always there when we needed anything) and maintained the place very well.
You won't find a better place in Havelock for the same price.
Thank you guys for everything. Thank you Hayley for your kindness.

Sofiane & Jazmin from Australia

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is a very quiet and peaceful place to stay. Staff were very friendly, and even allowed us to have our dogs stay over night, after checking this with them when booking. Kindly gave us a motel with car park directly outside to accommodate our dogs. The motels are perfect for the price, and have everything you need for one or two nights or maybe even a longer stay. Havelock is a really up-and-coming place and no different from places in the Sunshine Coast where you pay top dollars to visit. It's all here in our own little slice of paradise. So if you haven't visited Havelock, you really need to do so!

Room Tip: I would say that they are all well appointed. If you want the view, then you need to be upstairs, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff. Studio was clean and very comfortable and had all the facilities we expected. Average price for this type of room, Only stayed one night after the crossing from Wellington, at the start of our marathon journey around South Island. It rated highly in our experiences.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Havelock Motel and Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Havelock Motel and Motor Lodge

Address: 50 Main Road, Havelock 7100, New Zealand (Formerly Gateway To The Sounds Havelock Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Havelock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Havelock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on the main road, between Blenheim and Nelson, with the town's restaurants and shops within easy walking distance. We offer family friendly accommodation with a variety of room options, from studios to family units to luxury spa rooms. We have recently opened a heated mineral pool and kids pool also a cedar hot tub. Wifi broadband is available free of charge. Our newest rooms have stunning marina views and all unit have 50 plus sky TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Havelock Motel and Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Havelock Motel and Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.