We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Green Lip Mussels” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Slip Inn Cafe

Slip Inn Cafe
Havelock Marina, Havelock, New Zealand
+64 3-574 2345
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Havelock
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $23
Cuisines: Bar, Pizza, Coffee Shop, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Slip Inn Cafe is the only waterfront cafe in Marlborough. We are renowned for our relaxing cafe atmosphere, stunning views, friendly crew and for our extensive offering of tasty house-made fare, served all day, breakfast, lunch, dinner, pizza, platters and nibbles, many mussel dishes to choose from, gluten and dairy free and vegetarian options and a huge selection of drinks to enjoy featuring many local wines.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Green Lip Mussels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Had to make a stop over to Havelock during the honeymoon. Stayed in Blenheim for a few days. decided to go to Havelock to eat the famous Green Lip Mussel. Made a stop at the Slip Inn for a pint and some mussels. The Green Lips were not only fantastic tasting, but the shell was very colorful and cool. And the setting of being right at the marina adds a nice touch as well.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    97
    33
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great value Steak night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Friday night is STEAK NIGHT. Super value $20 for two fillet steak dinners cooked to perfection. Bruichetta starters were a little on the large side The bread was at least 5cms thick so be warned! It was a meal in itself.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
“A view, food and hilarious entertainment!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

What a fantastic place! A group of us stopped in for lunch when the place was pretty packed. The staff were more than happy to have us. As a larger group we weren't expecting what we received, and in the time we received it in. All of our meals came out one after another and there was no long wait. The pizza's were perfect, and all of the mussel dishes went down a treat! As for the location - its perfect! Sitting outside, watching people launching and pulling out their boats (well trying too anyway) was the cherry on top of a great day! Compliments to the chef and front of house staff. We will be back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disgusting”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

After being recommended this place I was truly disappointed. We were seated at a dirty table with the reminants of previous diners food not only on the table but also on the floor beside our feet. We changed tables to one that was only slightly better.
The chowder arrived after a lenghthy wait. It was watery and had hair in it.The fish smelt funny. We didn't eat anything.
When I complained to the staff they seemed quite disinterested. Upon departing I needed to visit the toilet. What a big mistake....... Dirty Dirty Dirty. For agood location this was a shame

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HavelockMotel, Owner at Slip Inn Cafe, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Well normally I would not respond to reviews as everyone is entitled to their opinion and 99.9% of our customers leave the Slip Inn extremely happy, but when someone such as yourself is so grossly inappropriate on such a forum then I must tell our side of the story.
First you were not seated at any table as we do not seat people at tables we are a café and people find there own tables! You choose to go to table that people had just left before we had any change to go and clean it, these people had kids with them and if you had children you would know that they can be messy at times and no matter how hard you try food tends to end up everywhere. If you had chosen a table that had not just been left or even waiting until the staff had time to clear then the table would not have been dirty (go figure).
The chowder did not have a hair in it but a strand of mussel beard which is quite normal when dealing with mussels, when this was pointed out to you; you seemed quite content with this answer and ate all of your chowder.
My staff were not disinterested but quite scared as they very really have to deal with such a rude person, especially the young local staff which we are training in the industry, in fact we have been using you in our training as a example of a worse case scenario person.
As for the toilets being dirty I apologias we had had an exceptionally busy lunch and obvious the toilets had been well used and our staff had not quite got around to their afternoon clean.
All in all the Slip Inn is an extremely busy, happy and clean café who prides itself on customer service and for the very small percent of people like yourself are not welcome back anyway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Mussel meal disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stopped for a late lunch on the way through the Blenheim and this was the only eating place open to eat the famed green lipped mussels. There was a nice selection, one of our party had the baked mussels and I had the steamed mussels in wine and herbs. The baked mussels where overdone and the steamed mussel where tasty enough, but so many of them had their beards still in tact, not tasty or attractive. The service was slow and unattentive although the girls working were friendly enough we had to ask to order and for our drinks. On the plus, the location is lovely and I think on a warm day, sitting outside overlooking the harbour would be lovely.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slip Inn Cafe also viewed

Havelock, Marlborough Region
Havelock, Marlborough Region
 
Havelock, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Slip Inn Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slip Inn Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.