We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another outstanding holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alpazur

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lanslebourg Mont Cenis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Alpazur
Save
You added Hotel Alpazur to your Saves list
106 rue du Mont Cenis, 73480 Lanslebourg Mont Cenis, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Another outstanding holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We have been to Hotel Apazur on four occasions and this was our best holiday there yet. Staff were friendly, food outstanding for what was offered and of course to help we had excellent snow.

the new coaches are very comfortable but we did find the DVD on the outward journey prevented us getting the early sleep which has ensured we were fresh for the extra day on the slopes on arrival.

Room Tip: Mountain views are lovely and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    17
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
18
12
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had a gorgeous family room overlooking the river at the back of the hotel, with views to the high speed chair lifts, ice skating rink and pine trees. Our room was clean, super warm and we had plenty hot water. There was a good amount of space in the room for the 4 of us, with a separate toilet to the bath/shower room. It was cleaned each day and we were given trays to put our ski boots on so we could keep them warm in our room. Our 6 year old boys loved the bunk beds and a hot bath every night. The team of staff were terrific, led by a lovely couple who always seemed to be around if you needed them. Loved the afternoon tea with a selection of freshly made cakes - nightmare for the waistline! We got into a great routine, having a big breakfast, then out to ski school, which was an easy walk from the hotel. We could order packed lunches, so if the boys returned cold or tired, we could go back to the hotel and eat our lunches either down in the lovely warm games room, sat on one of the sofas, or upstairs in one of the hotel lounges. Back out for a ski in the afternoon, then returning to all those cakes and hot drinks. We managed to get in the outdoor jacuzii which was incredible and well worth the few steps on snow to get into it!!!!! Steam, flashing lights under the water, the river behind us, snow falling and the mountains above us - a really great moment for us all!!! The chefs organised an early sitting for dinner for the children in the hotel, with some lovely staff looking after us. Then we would enjoy the 4 course evening meals which were plentiful and delicious. The staff organised some after dinner events in the hotel bar which were great! A kind of talent show, a really hard quiz, (well for us anyway) and then the last night Fancy Dress party!! We could go night skiing after dinner one evening and ice skating another. Our boys did a torch light descent one early evening which was organised by ski school - brilliant!!! We always felt welcomed when we returned to the hotel or came down from our room - it was cosy, comfortable and a home from home experience for us. The staff were so kind and friendly and really helped make this a great family holiday - thank you.

Room Tip: We opted for one of the rooms at the back of the hotel - we loved hearing the river when the balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Had a lovely time here thanks to great value for money. The most friendly staff I've ever come across, and wonderful food. Housekeeper Jo from Yorkshire did a great job with the rooms, although no chocolates provided on the pillows and no swan bath robes. Joanna on reception was truly enthusiastic and professional in every possible way, she was always there to say good morning first thing and good night last thing at night. Her unique personality made our week extra special. Kitchen assistant Damian should stay here season after season along with Craig the wonderful chef (who likes mushrooms). Had a lovely day skiing with staff member Lottie who took us on a great day up in the mountains. Finally, the broken wifi and hot-tub were both fixed by the end of our stay - thank you Peter, Jo and staff for a truly memorable week!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is for the hotel only - not the coach trip!!! It would be unfair to rate the coach trip as this is for the hotel, not the company that gets you there.

Having vowed never to travel with Snowcoach again, our friends who we had met at St Gervais in 2010 persuaded us that the hotel in Val Cenis was miles better. It certainly was, with a lovely greeting by the staff after a grueling 14hr coach trip. We were whisked in to the restaurant and had a plentiful breakfast before getting our ski passes and then on to the boot room to get our skis. All done very quickly and were on the slopes by 1.30pm.
For the rest of the stay, the chef and staff were really great and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is 3 star but the room was clean, the water hot (but not necessarily in the afternoon) and the beds fine.

On Christmas day we had a slap up dinner with all the traditional fayre - a really good evening and always with plentiful (if slightly 'cheap' wine)!! Compared to St Gervais in 2010 when we were presented with a turkey eascalop, this was 5 star!!!

The skiing was fine for us (we are not that expert) and the snow was great, the slopes prepared well and easy to get around. We will certainly go back not only in the summer (shame the hotel isn't open then) to explore all the mountain passes as there are many of the Tour de France routes very close by but also in the winter again but by car this time!!
Thanks to the team for a very enjoyable stay - made our Christmas!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrotham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Just returned form a 4 day ski break to Val Cenis. With hindsight, we must have taken leave of our senses to travel by coach! Despite assurance that the new coach(es) were excellent with loads of leg room blah blah blah, the journey was one of the worst holiday experiences ever. Yes there was loads of leg room and yes the coach was new but the seats are still very narrow and my wife and I found it virtually impossible to get comfortable and sleep despite popping a Nitol after gettign off the ferry. I dont suppose the film show helped - Bee Movie wasn't exactly condusive to sleep, nor was the 1 year old baby which screamed every time the coach stopped. Who would ever consider taking a baby on such a long coach trip?

Once we arrived in Val Cenis, most of the hotel staff were there to greet us which was a nice touch. The staff were very welcoming and extremely professional. We couldn't fault them for the whole 4 days. The manager and manageress appeared to run a very tight ship and you could tell they had been in the business for a good while.

The rooms were fine, clean and very warm (too warm at times!), and the common areas were clean and very comfortable.

The ski techs were superb and very thorough, leaving nothing to chance and providing a very efficient service.

The food was off the scale, absolutely superb and pleanty of it - well done chef and team.

The ski lifts were very close by and the skiing was superb if slightly limited compared to our last few holidays in The 3 Valleys.

We had holidayed with Snowcoach 4 or 5 years ago to Valmeinier and on that occasion the hotel was run (I use the word loosely) by a bunch of kids who had no clue between them and the food was inedible. This trip to Hotel Alpazur was a complete contrast and we would not hesitate in visting again - BUT NOT BY COACH!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Although I have been on many Snowcoach holidays this was my first trip to Val Cenis.
The hotel reception, bar, dining area and lounges are very spacious indeed. I would say the best of the three Snowcoach Hotels. Staff were on song and the food was good quality and served on time. The breakfasts were the best I have seen on Snowcoach with hot food available until 9.30 each day.
The cakes for afternoon tea were spot on. The bedrooms were comfortable (typical 3 star).
The position is fantastic: just 50 metres from the foot of the slopes (due to snow we were able to ski back to the hotel door along the main street) and nearest lift and right on the Val Cenis main street in the main resort town in the middle of the shops and restaurants.
Great hotel, great staff and great position.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlooking the slopes are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

3rd time with Snowcoach, 1st time to Val Cenis. Great location, very close to the chairlifts. Hotel was very clean, food was great and staff were very helpful. Travelled both ways in a very comfortable coach (Gold Crest). Would like to return next year if possible.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alpazur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpazur

Address: 106 rue du Mont Cenis, 73480 Lanslebourg Mont Cenis, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Lanslebourg Mont Cenis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Lanslebourg Mont Cenis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Hotel Alpazur Lanslebourg Mont Cenis, France - Rhone-Alpes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alpazur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.