We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic Setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge de L'Abbaye

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Auberge de L'Abbaye to your Saves list
Auberge de L'Abbaye
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Place guillaume le conquerant, 27800 Le Bec-Hellouin, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Le Bec-Hellouin
London, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Idyllic Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Our second visit to this hotel and it was clear that there had been changes. The hotel was much smarter than on our first trip and the restaurant was impressive. The overall charm has been retained and it would be hard to fault the setting and surroundings. Inside, the rooms are now at a good standard although the bathrooms in some could do with an update - I got the impression that work was scheduled. The inner courtyard provided a quiet and sunny spot for a beer after a long journey and the restaurant, good on our previous visit, was superb. The presentation of the food was lovely and, most important, it tasted every bit as good as it looked. Overall, a very pleasant night stop and I suspect a very nice base for a few days exploring.

Room Tip: Some rooms appear to be awaiting modernisation but are perfectly good. To be sure, opt for a premium...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    27
    23
    9
    11
See reviews for
15
75
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Barnet
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We booked this on the strength of the Tripadvisor reviews and we weren't disappointed. The place is charming, with some modern touches overlaying a lovely old property. Warm welcome and friendly staff. The rooms are comfortable and clean, with vintage furniture. Our bathroom had a superb modern shower. The food is excellent - a bit "Nouvelle" with very cheffy presentation but the quality is high. There is a courtyard which looks like an ideal place to sit with a drink on a summer evening - a pity we were there in February ;-(

The Auberge is right in the centre of the pretty and historic village, a short stroll from the Abbey. The hotel doesn't have its own car park, but there are a number of free parking spaces just across the road outside.

Not super-luxurious but we loved it and rate it excellent for its overall charm and quality. Recommended for a stop-over. Possibly the only thing we could complain about was that there wasn't a complementary bottle of water in the room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed 1 night to break our journey. Beautiful tranquil half timbered village with impressive abbey.
Had superior room at rear of courtyard - spacious and well equipped.
Dinner (we booked half board) was first class - limited choice but excellent quality and presentation. Breakfast simple but again very good.
Staff were friendly and helpful (their english limited but better than my french!)
Would recommend as a peaceful stop-over, a base for a short visit to the area or just as somewhere well worth visiting just for the food.

Room Tip: superior room worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed overnight to break up our journey from London in the hope of visiting a pretty French village, having a lovely meal and getting a good night sleep. So far so good. The Hotel is attractively presented and the check in was smooth enough. The area of Le Bec-Hellouin is dominated by an impressive and picturesque Abbey. Our early evening walk through the Abbey made a tremendous memory and provided an outstanding photo opportunity.
Possibly our experience would have been very different if we were not traveling with a 2 year old who may well have gone to sleep at 7.45 as per normal, had the walls been thick enough to disguise the outrageous free-form French shouting festival from the room next door, which they weren't. Who knew an angry couple could bellow so loud and for so long. Compounding the issues raised by high volume shouting came the thudding on walls from neighboring rooms. Baby quickly lost his sleep mojo and as a result, our booking for 8 pm in the downstairs restaurant was in jeopardy. We decided that mummy would stay with baby until he fell asleep while I would wait in the restaurant. Unfortunately this wait extended to one and a half hours, spent sitting alone in a half full restaurant observing the goings on around me. Firstly, the lighting is not good, way too bright, but mostly my impression of this experience and in consideration of my familiarity with hospitality, I can only observe that leaving a single customer sitting alone for one and a half hours without the offer of so much as a bread roll goes to the heart of the hospitality argument. After an hour and half I approached our hostess to suggest we cancel the booking and request that I take a bottle of wine back to the room. Her reply was 'Non possible', which I thought was unreasonably unaccommodating, as was the absence of any recommendation for any food, knowing as she did that we had a restless child in the room. My dream of returning to the room with a sandwich and a bottle of wine for long suffering mum was clearly ‘impossible.’ An inhospitability first, anywhere in the world, in my experience of staying in Hotels.
At this point mummy arrived in the restaurant, and our hostess vacillated over even allowing us to eat, being by now 9.30 and seemingly too late for the kitchen. The meal that followed - a nine course tasting menu - made me reflect on more than one occasion that had there been a fast food joint in the town, our culinary interest would have stood a better chance of being impressed. Almost every item was overdone. The atmosphere was grim. The experience was disappointing on many levels. When we left the following morning and reflected on the £250 cost of our room and dinner, I found it difficult to see how anyone working in a hospitality business could happily take £250 off the same very hungry restaurant guest they happily left sitting alone for an hour and a half without the offer of so much as a bread roll. Not a visit I look back on with fondness, or would recommend under the present management.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Le Bec-Hellouin hotels

Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

The village of Le Bec-Hellouin is a sleepy, but charming hamlet based around an important abbey that was established as early as the 13th century. The village and abbey itself is worth a visit. The only accommodations in town is this small auberge that is situated on the pretty main road through town across from a nice patch of grass and old church.

This was a return trip after being away for 18 years and fortunately the village didn't change but unfortunately to my taste the auberge did. It is a nice place and totally acceptable, but it had been updated and expanded and lacked the warmth of an old roadside auberge. It seems that they tried to modern it up, but it never gets there. The rooms are comfortable but not cozy. The kitchen also seems to have moved away from an old-fashioned french kitchen to a more nouvelle-style in their presentation and portion size. Again, its good but it misses the mark.

Perhaps the worse part was the lack of attentive service. Not unfriendly, just not service minded. Probably would try to find someplace in another village next time and just come to Le Bec Hellouin to listen to vespers (6pm) at the Abbey -- worth a visit

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

Stayed here for an overnight stop on way home from Dordogne.
Lovely little village built in the shadow of the abbey.
Family run hotel with excellent restaurant.
Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcs
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

We chose the auberge through the review with the michelin Guide.

We were very pleased with our choice. Le Bec Hellouin is a very attractive small village. The hotel is in the centre and the patrons are extremely helpful and obliging. The food was very good and the wines were very reasonably priced, but on a Thursday evening the restaurant was very quiet. Our room (at 90 euros - the dearest) was large, very clean and well laid out. Breakfast was about french average - not great. Our real discovery was wandering around the village after we arrived just before 6pm and finding the monastery where at 6pm as we arrived the monks singing vespers. My wife and I doubled the congregation!! A very enjoyable and pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge de L'Abbaye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de L'Abbaye

Address: 12 Place guillaume le conquerant, 27800 Le Bec-Hellouin, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Le Bec-Hellouin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Le Bec-Hellouin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge de L'Abbaye 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Auberge de L'Abbaye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge De l`Abbaye Hotel Le Bec-Hellouin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge de L'Abbaye, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.