We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bau Truc Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bau Truc Resort to your Saves list
Bau Truc Resort
Ninh Chu Beach, Yen Ninh Street, Phan Rang-Thap Cham, Vietnam (Formerly Den Gion Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A fantastic stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

A very relaxed place, with a charmíng staff. Beautiful resort in Cham traditional style. Lovely seafood for a very reasonal price. Do not forget to swim at the resort swimming pool, it is gordious. we stayed here for 3 days. You take a taxi 10 munites to Phan Rang and Thap Cham. Bau Truc resort is still in the quiet area.

Room Tip: all room was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    13
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Nagpur, India
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The Bau Truc Resort situated in the centre of the Phan Rang beach in Phan Rang - Thap Cham, Vietnam. This exclusive place has a charm of its own because of its location on the beach and is very peaceful. The beach sand is white and smooth but the sea water is not that clear on the beach because of the soft sand. This is one of the best and beautiful beaches I have ever come across. There were not many tourists at the time when we were there.

After taking a flight from Saigon to the Cam Ranh International airport we drove 65 kms south to the Phan Rang - Thap Cham town and the Bau Truc resort. The reception was not too great at the resort and they took some time to figure out at the time of checking in. As we had booked a sea facing Sakaya Deluxe room just by the beach we were given room no 108 with breakfast included. This was a fairly big and good room with the other side opening onto the beach. The room is a little long walk from the reception and the luggage took a lot of time to be delivered.

At the time of the check in our passports were kept as ‘deposit’ with the cashier lady much to our objection. We stayed here for two nights on different dates.
The construction of the resort is done in local ethnic Cham style and the decor of the room was simple and charming.

The Sakaya restaurant, with two seatings, one covered and the other open to sky by the beach, offered good ethnic Vietnamese food. This is the best place in the whole resort to sit and laze around. Our breakfast that was included in the price was just basic. The evenings at this place are very breezy, quiet and pleasant with the spectacular view of the beach, making it an amazing experience.

We took a massage at the resort and it turned out to be a damp squib. The two lady masseurs from the local village were in a hurry even before they began and tried to charge us twice. The down point of this place is that no one speaks English well, and we had quite a bit of problem with paying our hotel bills at the time of the checkout and getting our passports back on the last day. Early in the morning the cashier was not present at the counter, there was a security guard but he didn’t understand and utter a word of English. As we had to drive 65 kms to the Cam Ranh International airport we had no clue where our passports were and would have missed the flight if we hadn’t created a ruckus – which woke up the receptionist lady barely in time to check us out and hand us back our passports! Phew! That was a terrible scare she gave us.

Our stay was quite non-interactive with anyone at the hotel because of the non English speaking staff and guests. The overall staying experience was exciting because of the location of the resort on the beach.

Room Tip: The sea facing Sakaya Deluxe rooms are very good. They open directly onto the Phan Rang beach and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Nicely appointed rooms (Sea View) the beach is right there, although you have to rub through the weeds growing up and over the stepping stones.
Very Comfortable bed
Nice large and light bathroom.
Very nice pool, lovely beach, friendly, mostly helpful staff almost get this place over the line as a recommend place to stay.
BUT! Be prepared to put up with the terrible loud karaoke stage show complete with arrogant microphone wielding tour group leader when you head for the restaurant for dinner. These guy's commander the best outdoor part of the restaurant and blast away any serenity or ambiance in a radius of at least 1km, It's bad, as is the Breakfast! Bad, no other words it's BAD.
If you stay well away from the restaurant and eat and drink somewhere else you may find this place Ok?
Lovely rooms and potentially a lovely resort, let down by a poor Restaurant and bar.

Room Tip: Do not Stay in Room 501 or 502 if you need an early night. The Tour Group Karaoke will not let you s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Great facilities right on the beach. The rooms are huge and very clean. Although our room backed on to the beach and the door that led out there didn't have an outside lock so you had to lock it from the inside then go out the front door and battle through the bushes to get out there. And our shower had issues, couldnt be warm, had to be freezing cold or boiling hot. Restaurant was good, nice food, but we ended up getting double charged at the end of the night. My dad paid the bill and left and then my boyfriend went to get another drink and they charged him the whole bill all over again! Was ok once that was sorted out but was a bit of a buzz kill. Still a nice place, secure scooter parking etc. Quite a way out from Phan Rang centre but a really great spot on the beach.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Phan Rang was an interesting stop on the way to Nha Trang. This hotel is a large resort on the beach. It had good rooms, beautiful food, friendly staff, a huge swimming pool and lovely grounds. It was basically deserted when we were there. We only saw a few other people. We were told it was a popular Vietnamese resort on weekends so maybe it is busier then. We had lovely food eaten in the resort restaurant overlooking the beach. The beach is nice but like many Vietnamese beaches it has a steep drop-off. It was interesting to watch the fisherman in their little coracles putting out the nets and then retrieving the fish. There is not a great deal to do in Phan Rang after the beach but the hotel organised a taxi to take us to the local market which was small but different to the tourist markets and we then visited the Cham Towers which were also small but impressive. The hotel staff were very friendly and looked after us well. They organised a car to take us to Nha Trang for $65. Rooms were very clean with usual aircon TV and water. We paid $46/night including breakfast. It was a lovely quiet break from the hustle / bustle of other cities.

Room Tip: Rooms on the beach would be nice, but more expensive We had a lovely garden facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bau Truc Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bau Truc Resort

Address: Ninh Chu Beach, Yen Ninh Street, Phan Rang-Thap Cham, Vietnam (Formerly Den Gion Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Binh Thuan Province > Phan Rang-Thap Cham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Phan Rang-Thap Cham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Bau Truc Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bau Truc Resort Phan Rang-Thap Cham, Vietnam - Binh Thuan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bau Truc Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.