We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Please Help Info Ferry to Tanzania

Scotland
reviews: 1
Please Help Info Ferry to Tanzania

I planning on a trip to travel from Malawi to Tanzania. Ill be travelling with in a group of 5 in a Pick up truck(is it possible to take the pickup truck on the ferry?). I am looking for the best route to take from malawi to Tanzania, also looking for Tips and Advice as this is my first time travelling from Malawi to Tanzania.

Thanks a lot

Fraz

Sheffield, United...
1. Re: Please Help Info Ferry to Tanzania

Hi, there are no ferries Malawi to Tanzania, the lake ferry, Ilala, which plies up and down the lake, used to go from Malawi to Tans, but that finished some time ago, and the ferry now only goes across the lake to the Likoma islands, then goes to Moz. There is a main road connection at the top of the lake at Songwe, this is the main route into Tans. There are small ad hoc ferries across the lake, but these are to be avoided, as they are unlicenced, and invariably overloaded. Lake Malawi can turn VERY nasty very quickly, it is not to be underestimated.

I will pm a general advice letter.

Dont hesitate to ask any questions.

Ivan

Scotland
2. Re: Please Help Info Ferry to Tanzania

Mr Ivan ,

Thanks a lot. Looking at land routes. Thinking of going to Gecko Lounge at Monkey Bay spending a Night or 2 and then heading to Tanzania, Only problem is still checking the routes on Google Map.

Is the Land route through Zambia(Visa Issues)?

How long does the journey take from Monkey Bay to Dar Es Salaam, Any Stops/Cheap accomadtion/Hostels Recommended?

Plenty more questions to come your way sir, Hope you are okay with that.

Many Thanks,

FRAZ

Sheffield, United...
3. Re: Please Help Info Ferry to Tanzania