We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best place to stay in the Coromandel area?

Which Coromandel hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Queensland
reviews: 20
Best place to stay in the Coromandel area?

We are on a limited time in our visit to the Coromandel this April. Where should we stay to be best centered to use some walking trails - we are very fit; enjoy a restaurant / town, and what would you recommend as the "must do's" for this area in 2 days.

Thanks for the replies.

16 replies to this topic
Auckland Region...
reviews: 68
1. Re: Best place to stay in the Coromandel area?

Hi, I am not very experienced with walking trails in the area but I've been to the Coromandel several times and would recommend Whitianga as a good base. It's not necessarily the best beach but it is a good sized town and you'll find a few decent restaurants (there is one called Salt which is on the waterfront which does nice food). Whitianga is also an easy base to get to some of the very beautiful beaches which are probably the Coromandel's main attraction - Hahei, Hot Water Beach, Cooks Beach in one direction, Opito Bay, Matarangi if you head north. If you go to Hahei, you must do the walk over the hill to Cathedral Cove, it's a stunning little beach.

new zealand
reviews: 311
2. Re: Best place to stay in the Coromandel area?

must do. Awesome historical and interesting walk. Take a torch and I especially recommend the windows tunnel walk.

thecoromandel.com/new-zealand/…

Other must dos are of course hot water beach and cathedral cove. But check the tides as hot water beach is best an hour or so either side of low tide.

Queensland
reviews: 20
3. Re: Best place to stay in the Coromandel area?

Thanks to you both for the replies.

Auckland, New...
reviews: 10