We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Newbie here...

In cooperation with: Visit Mexico
Which Holbox Island hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
NOTL, Ontario
reviews: 6
Newbie here...

Hi!! I'm planning a short(Thurs-Sun) solo trip to Isla Holbox in August to see the whale sharks. Originally, I was going to stay in PDC, but as I looked into it and saw that Holbox was the best place to do a tour from, I figured I may as well stay there for the whole trip…I'm not into clubs, touristy areas, etc, so I think it's the perfect fit…I just want to chill out and walk the beach! I've already inquired about transport from the airport with Rodriggo, but was wondering about where to stay…I'd really like to be on the beach since it's such a short trip and this is something I probably won't do again for a long time…I had it narrowed down to La Palapa and Holbox Dreams, but was wondering what others are out there that are on the beach and not too far a walk from town?? Also, since I've always done AIs(Mayan Riviera and Huatulco), what about restaurants? I see some hotels have a continental brekkie included…are there lots of places open early for breakfast type stuff(can I get my churro fix here?? LOL) and places to grab stuff 'on the go' for other meals? I certainly don't mean fast food or anything, just thinking since I'm on my own, that may be the way to go. Are there any other 'tours' available?? I thought someone mentioned flamingoes?? Or can I take a tour to see the more remote parts of the island?? Thanks so much for your help…I'm totally a newbie to this part of Mexico and I'm really excited!!

Atenas, Costa Rica
reviews: 1
1. Re: Newbie here...