We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Jags v. Lions

Which Jacksonville hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
PA
reviews: 1
Jags v. Lions

I'm flying into Jacksonville Saturday morning with my brother for a weekend stay until Monday for the Jags/Lions game. We are staying downtown at the Hyatt. We're both young professionals in our older 20s. Basic outline of our plan was to head to the beach area Saturday afternoon for lunch, and stay downtown Saturday evening for dinner (Steak or Seafood place), and to head to a sports bar to watch the CFB games that night. For Sunday, head to the area around the stadium before, and after the game do the same sports bar thing for the rest of the NFL action.

I have a few questions since this is my first time in Jacksonville:

Does this sound like a good strategy? Or would you recommend maybe the beach for its restaurants/sports bars on a Saturday evening? Also, what beach? Atlantic? Ponte Vedra? Need help with that!

Does anyone have any suggestions on sports bars in the beach area and downtown area? Like I said earlier, we're both in our late 20s just looking to catch the game. We want to be somewhere where there's a fair amount of people, but not obnoxiously "clubby" if you catch my drift.

Judging from previous responses, it looks like the Hyatt is a pleasant walk to the stadium? I don't have to worry about anything on that front?

Would you recommend renting a car, instead of cabbing it everywhere? I know the city and surround areas are quite expansive.

Thanks in advance for any help anyone can provide!!

Orlando, Florida
reviews: 11
1. Re: Jags v. Lions