We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Budget for 10 days in NYC (including 2 days in Philadelphia)

Which New York City hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Leicester, United...
Budget for 10 days in NYC (including 2 days in Philadelphia)

Hi, I'm about to buy dollars and need advice on how much to take with me.

I'll be in America from the 3rd of June until the 13th, specifically NYC and two days visiting a friend in Philadelphia. I'm a student on a student budget so I don't plan on fancy dining or taxis or splashing out on shopping- I just want to see the city :)

For transportation, I know it's $5 each way for the Jamaica air train and the metro card is $30 for a week so, unless I end up stuck without public transport, I shouldn't have to spend much more than $40. This obviously doesn't include my transport to and from Philly.

That leaves the cost of my food and attractions. I want to see maybe four or five paid things and also look out for pay-what-you-want museums etc. I'm keen on Top of The Rock, MoMA, Metropolitan Museum and World Trade Center Memorial but I'll happily take any recommendations.

My accommodation is already covered, by the way!

Saint Louis...
reviews: 27
1. Re: Budget for 10 days in NYC (including 2 days in Philadelphia)

Do you have a credit card? Almost all hotels will expect to take an imprint of your card against any possible additional charges, even if you've prepaid. If you use a debit or cash card for this purpose then the amount on hold won't be available to you during your stay. If you use a credit card you'll never notice the hold unless you're right up against your credit card limit. Nothing is actually charged to the card so this doesn't cost you anything.