We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Absolute Beginner's Guide on How to Use the NYC Subway

Which New York City hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
New York City, New...
Absolute Beginner's Guide on How to Use the NYC Subway

I find that a lot of tourists always struggle or are intimidated by the NYC subway system, and whenever I explain it to friends and visitors, I realize that it can be a confusing system. I decided to spent some time to put together this "Absolute Beginner's Guide on How to Use the New York City Subway System" in hope that this gets into the hands of visitors before they come to this city. I hope this helps:

http://goo.gl/3hUWp

Cheers,

Minh T. Nguyen.

PS: I hope this post doesn't get removed, as this is not spam. I am not making any money from this and am just trying to help tourists.

87 replies to this topic
florida
reviews: 16
31. Re: Absolute Beginner's Guide on How to Use the NYC Subway

This is brilliant, I love the pictures.

Thank you so very much

Sydney, Australia
reviews: 4
32. Re: Absolute Beginner's Guide on How to Use the NYC Subway

This is a great explanation. I had read the sticky one on the side but I couldn't really follow it and I had noticed when people ask questions they often got told a bit unkindly to read the Top Questions answer.

This now makes it quite clear and I am a lot less nervous about my trip.

Thanks

Canada
reviews: 2
33. Re: Absolute Beginner's Guide on How to Use the NYC Subway

I agree with you kiwisarah40. This version is much easier to follow than the sticky version. I read the sticky version for our 2011 trip but felt so overwhelmed that we did not try the subway.

After reading this version, I had the confidence to try it out just this month when we were in NYC......although, no transfers yet :)