We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kealakekua or Honaunau?

Which Captain Cook hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Holly Springs, NC
reviews: 33
Kealakekua or Honaunau?

I am planning our family (2 parents, 2 teens) trip to the Big Island next year, and after making a circuitous ramble around the island we will settle in the Kona area for about 5 nights. I've got two good possibilities for lodging - each are walking distance to the water, one is just next door to the Pu'uhonua O Honaunau Historical park, and the other is a stone's throw from Manini Beach at Kealakekua.

So, calling all experts, any advantage one over the other? We plan to snorkel and relax and soak in nature's beauty!

Thanks in advance!

Tampa, FL USA
reviews: 31
1. Re: Kealakekua or Honaunau?

I'm no expert, but can tell you that I'd choose the place near Pu'unhonau O Honaunau (Place of Refuge). I thoroughly enjoyed visiting the park and the great diving/snorkel site just north of it (often called Two Step). Place of Refuge is considered sacred by Hawaiians, and there is "just something" about it that was extra relaxing and beautiful.

Kealakekua was also beautiful, I think that is where we did a quick stop but didn't swim (not sure there was a good entry? you'll want to check on that).

Washington DC...
reviews: 230
2. Re: Kealakekua or Honaunau?

What time of year? Ask about seasonal water conditions at Manini in case entry/exit is difficult sometimes. TwoStep can also be difficult, but there is another way in that Bill told me, via the boat ramp. It's a little tricky to swim out that way and you have to watch for boat traffic.

Island of Hawaii...
reviews: 24
3. Re: Kealakekua or Honaunau?