We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

HELP! 1st time in Reston.Is it wise to rent a car for a day?

Which Reston hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Manila, Philippines
HELP! 1st time in Reston.Is it wise to rent a car for a day?

I'll be going to reston on the 27th. arriving late in the evening, and leaving the next day at night. my stay is only 24hrs (because of work). and it's my first time there so i'm thinking of renting a car so at least i can see the city and nearby cities in my short stay. but i need advice because there might be good transportation system so i might just be wasting money on the car rental. i'm also thinking of visiting a cousin in Williamsburg. please help! thank you so much!!

Washington DC...
reviews: 51
1. Re: HELP! 1st time in Reston.Is it wise to rent a car for a day?

Reston isn't a city. It is more of a neighborhood with business districts that include shops such as grocery stores and goods as well as areas with high-rise buildings that house large companies. It is also a densly populated area that is considered a suburb of Washington, D.C. and has a lot of busy roads and congested traffic, especially during peak times when people are trying to get to and from work.

There really isn't anything to see our tour. A transportation system such as a subway or bus that will take you around anywhere you want to go and easily connect you to places like Washington, D.C. is non-existent.

If you are not interested in touring D.C., then I would go ahead and rent a car and go visit Williamsburg. Expect it to take you about 4 hours to get there accounting for your unfamiliarity with the area and any short stops you may need to make.