We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red, White, and Boom

Which Columbus hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Red, White, and Boom

Does anyone know of a good place to watch the fireworks that is not super crowded? Thanks!

Columbus, Ohio
reviews: 115
1. Re: Red, White, and Boom

That is the question. I'm by no means an expert but here's my input. If you want to be close and feel the boom there's really no place unless you book a hotel room that faces the fireworks (and they're already booked).

You can move further out of town and find something like a parking garage. When our kids were smaller we watched it from the top of the airport parking garage; there were a bunch people there and it was an event, but you're pretty far away. I've wondered if the parking garages at OSU campus or Riverside Hospital might be good spots.

Sorry I can't be more helpful. Enjoy.

Columbus, Ohio
reviews: 85
2. Re: Red, White, and Boom

Shhh!! Don't tell too many people, but if you head west on Goodale (past Neil) and up around Michigan and Thurber roads, there are open lawn areas. We watched the fireworks here a couple years ago with friends. The crowd was mixed of young/old, friends/couples, and families. There is plenty of free parking down the side streets. Some people had their radios dialed into the local station playing the patriotic music as the fireworks were going off.

Columbus, Ohio
reviews: 85
3. Re: Red, White, and Boom