We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Canadian want to know: How to get there?

Which Watkins Glen hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Edmonton
reviews: 14
Canadian want to know: How to get there?

Every June/July we fly from Alberta to LaGuardia and spend 3-5 days in Manhattan shopping and eating and exploring. Someone put Watkins Glen on my radar and, as a scenic photographer, I think it appropos to visit this place. We don't drive, we are limited to public transport. Can this place be visited from Manhattan by public modes of transport or should I fly into some other (large) hub and Greyhound it to there? I see there are a few hotels/B&B's in the area of the park so that's no problem. Also, how hard are the trails? I have a 77 year old mother in tow and she might like to prefer to rest along the trail (if it's possible) while I do my thing with the camera but she's ok with stairs, etc (just not 'climbing' per se).

3 replies to this topic
Fort Collins...
reviews: 294
1. Re: Canadian want to know: How to get there?

Watkins Glen, and the Finger Lakes in general, are a fairly rural area and it is not easy to get there by public transport. You could fly closer to Syracuse, Ithaca or Elmira but all of those are fairly small airports and you would still need to make your way to WG 30-75 miles away. If you don't mind the bus, probably Greyhound or Trailways from NYC could get you to WG in under a day - probably with stops/connections.