We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Trek Mount Toukbal without a guide...possible?

Which Imlil hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Manchester, United...
Trek Mount Toukbal without a guide...possible?

Hi all,

I've been to Morocco before ( Agadir and Marrakech) loved it and would like to go again in May 2013. However this time with a group of 5-10 people to trek to the summit of Jbel Toukbal. We will be doing it for a local chairty and therefore need to keep costs as low as possible. I have some experience in organising charity events in the UK. Snowdon / 3peaks etc

My question is that the flights are coming in at around £135 ish but cost of a guide/mule/food etc is around £150, is it possible to do the trek without a guide ? Therefore maximise the income for the charity.

I know its a 2 day 1 night trek, can we take out our camping gear/food/drinks etc and make our own way up? I have been told that the path is clearly defined and in places signed, is this correct?

Would like to hear from someone who has recently done it if possible and I'll be very interested in read their comments.

Many thanks

London, United...
Destination Expert
for Morocco
reviews: 36
1. Re: Trek Mount Toukbal without a guide...possible?

Your costings are about right (might come in slightly less) as you will need one guide plus at least two mules. Though I'm surprised that you might take these costs out of the money you are raising for the charity!!!

Yes you can do it yourself, the path is clear. You exit Imlil via Armed (aka Aremdt) and head for Sidi Chamrouse then keep going and stop overnight at one of the two refuges at 3200m. Next day start real early--leave bags at refuge-- and do the final 1000m via the South Col, then descend all the way back to Imlil.