We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Advice required: travelling from UK!

Which Ithaca hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Edinburgh, United...
reviews: 11
Advice required: travelling from UK!

Hi,

I require to travel to Cornell University in order to conduct research in relation to my PhD. I am traveling from the UK. I will be in the states for around 2-3 weeks and also have to go to Washington D.C to research at the Library of Congress and the Smithsonian.

So, my question is, how to I get from Cornell from D.C? Would the best option be to fly to NY first and make my way out to Cornell, then travel down to D.C?

Also, I will be in Cornell for approx. 3-4 nights. Does anyone know of any cheap accommodation (I'm an impoverished student!)

Thanks in advance.

reviews: 2
1. Re: Advice required: travelling from UK!

trails.com/all-hotels/…

Train Bus or Plane will get you to DC from Cornell. Fly out of Ithica

…priceline.com/insideTrack/flights/Ithaca-IT…

Ithaca, New York
2. Re: Advice required: travelling from UK!

Ithaca calls itself "centrally isolated." It's a lot like Scotland. Nothing is easy from or to Ithaca. Depending on where you're flying from, you may want to go through Toronto. You can then fly to Syracuse and rent a car to Ithaca but renting in Toronto and driving to Ithaca will take about the same amount of time--maybe 8 hours. With a car, you can drive to DC--6-8 hours more. I don't recall any direct flights from Ithaca to DC, but I suspect there many be some from Syracuse to DC. What I'm trying to do with all this thinking is create a round trip, so that your airfare stays the cheapest. Flying then from DC back home. The reason I suggest going through Toronto is that you will have a nicer and cheaper flight on Air Canada than going through NYC on USAir.