We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

what to do for 3 day visit

Which Las Cruces hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
NJ
14 posts
what to do for 3 day visit

i will be coming into Las Cruces this thursday and have plans for thursday and saturday night.

i have hotel for thursday night and saturday night in las cruces.

my question is what to do from Friday AM to Saturday noon?

should i drive somewhere friday morning, spend the day there and stay there overnight or go somewhere on friday, come back to las cruces and do something saturday am?

this is my first time to this part of the country, i'm from the east coast.

your opinion is appreciated.

13 replies to this topic
Albuquerque, New...
Level Contributor
2,169 posts
36 reviews
1. Re: what to do for 3 day visit

The first thing you can do is enjoy a sunset on what are arguably the most scenic mountains in New Mexico, the chisled Organ range.

You are only an hour's drive from the famous White Sands National Monument, just west of Alamogordo, and through the Organ Mountains. (Don't expect lush forests.here)

What is in reality white gypsum deposits blown into sixty-foot dunes, the White

Sands provide a very impressive and unique siight. Mornings are best, because it can be over 90F. by mid-afternoon. Bring water to take into the monument...there is none in it's interior. (Enttrance to middle picnic area is about 9 miles...driving on hardened white gypsum....cool!