We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

thinking of moving to Rochester, MN...

Which Rochester hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Orlando
reviews: 1
thinking of moving to Rochester, MN...

Hi...I'm seriously considering moving to Rochester with my wife and two teenage daughters. This Florida heat is oppressive. We don't really want to spend more than 150K on a house; we'd like to use some of the proceeds from the sale of this house to buy a rental property as well. Are there any areas of Rochester that we should stay away from(for our residence), or is the entire city safe? (which I would find hard to believe). What are the taxes like? Utility bills for a 4/2? best high school? Is there a lot of live music?(I'm a professional musician) Right now I'm just trying to do a lot of research. Rochester is always near the top of the list as one of the best cities to live in America...and those four seasons, I really miss those. Thanks for your halp.

SJ

Milwaukee WI
1. Re: thinking of moving to Rochester, MN...

What I can tell you is that crime is very low, and there are not really any bad neighborhoods. Very safe city.

Rochester,MN
reviews: 17
2. Re: thinking of moving to Rochester, MN...

I live in Rochester currently. It is a great city to reside in. The only thing we are missing is a nice lake which is rather ironic. I would advise you to stay away from certain parts of the SE side of town. Anybody who lives here would be able to give you more detail. Some parts of the SE side are very nice but others have higher crime. Overall the city is wonderful and we do enjoy a low crime rate.

Minneapolis
3. Re: thinking of moving to Rochester, MN...