We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Please help plan my itinerary. Reykjavík to Vik and more.

Peterborough
reviews: 1
Please help plan my itinerary. Reykjavík to Vik and more.

I will be travelling to Iceland for a 5 day trip 11th Feb to 15th Feb. I was wondering if anybody could give me some pointers on if there may be any oversight in my plans.

I'm a keen photographer so I'm very interested in sights that make great photos.

Tues 1600: Fly in and pick up 4x4. Drive to Reykjavík. Stay overnight.

Could we get a northern light tour? How late do they keep you up until?

Wednesday: Reykjavík to Vik

I'd like to take in a picturesque route to Vyk where we have a hotel booked for the evening. Could we do the golden circle tour and still arrive in Vyk without too much driving in the dark?

Thursday: Drive from Vyk to visit the glacier lagoon and maybe something else before returning to Vyk to stay overnight.

Friday: I'd like to visit the black sand beaches in the Vyk area. Also take in the crashed aircraft. What else in the area would make a cool photo stop? We will also need to drive back to Reykjavík on this day so that needs taking into account.

Saturday: Leave Reykjavík at 1600 to fly home.

Also what kind of daytime temperatures are we looking at this time of year? I'd be eternally grateful for any advice from anybody that is knowledgeable in this area of Iceland.

Hampshire, UK
reviews: 73
1. Re: Please help plan my itinerary. Reykjavík to Vik and more.

On the way to Vik you would certainly have time to do the golden circle and the lovely waterfalls further along route 1 including Seljandsfoss and Skogafoss.

The next day you could visit Svartifoss on the way to Jokulsarlon, take the road through the campsite to miss half the walk to save time and be able to return to Vik.