We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Jellyfish in Florida panhandle beaches

Which Pensacola hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
dallas tx
Jellyfish in Florida panhandle beaches

We are thinking about taking a vacation to Destin or Pensacola Aug 2nd-9th. I am alarmed by all the posts regarding jellyfish. We have 5 young children and don't want them to get stung obviously. I am looking for advice on if we should go or if there are other places we should consider?

Chicago
reviews: 11
1. Re: Jellyfish in Florida panhandle beaches

I see there are 2 posts regarding jellyfish in the forum. Sorry, haven't been to Pensacola yet so I am no expert. We are going there this August. Wondering why you haven't received a response yet?

There are always things that can make a vacation unpleasant from bad weather to animals like jellyfish. Regardless of their presence we will still be there in August and with the appropriate remedies should my family get stung. If you want to see Pensacola or Destin, by all means go and just be prepared. I wonder if the sound side would have any if they are present on the gulf side?

If you see a purple flag flying -> dangerous marine life which includes jellyfish www.pensacolasgreatest.com/WarningFlags.html

pensacola
2. Re: Jellyfish in Florida panhandle beaches

As a local I'd say there is no predicting the jellyfish and seaweed attacks...wind and weather conditions control these events. However, as the summer moves on, there seems to be less and less of these nuisances. Mother Nature rules here. Fantastic beach time is mid-Sept thru Oct.

Jellyfish sting relief: put full strength white vinegar in a hand spray bottle, spray area liberally (do not rub or scratch) at 3 min intervals about 3 or 4 times. Pain will go away.

dallas tx