We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Is S.Hewitt St a safe area to stay in for two months?

Which Los Angeles hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
London, United...
Is S.Hewitt St a safe area to stay in for two months?

Hello, I am looking to intern for two months with a studio located on S.Spring street, downtown LA, in the summer. I found a possible place on S.Hewitt Street, and assumed I could walk to and from my internship place.

But I wanted to find out if S Hewitt St safe? It's based in Little Tokyo, but its also near to Skid Row which I was worried about.

I am a female student from London UK traveling alone.

Am I better off looking at other areas near s. spring street?

The residence is budget friendly, and I thought the area was a little similar to the mission district in San Francisco (where I have stayed also) but I could be totally misguided by my impressions!

Any advice is appreciated!!!

Corona del Mar, CA
Destination Expert
for San Diego, Orange County, California
reviews: 342
1. Re: Is S.Hewitt St a safe area to stay in for two months?

If you were a single male, I'd say S Hewitt was fine. I am less sure recommending it for a single female, but it depends a bit on the exact address. S Hewitt and 2nd St MIGHT be okay.

But I think Spring St might be as bad or worse, again depending on exactly which building it is.

Where is your internship located? (cross streets)

Here is a decent source/resource for reference.

http://fidm.edu/en/Admissions/Housing/Independent+Housing/ (it won't hyper link so just copy & paste)

Edited: 10:49 am, January 03, 2013
Santa Monica...
Destination Expert
for Los Angeles, Santa Monica, Mammoth Lakes
reviews: 21
2. Re: Is S.Hewitt St a safe area to stay in for two months?