We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sumatra trip this coming January

Boulder, Colorado
Sumatra trip this coming January

Hello!

My husband and I are visiting Sumatra early January 2014. We have around 8 days to visit and would like to head to Gunung Leuser National Park. I'm a wildlife biologist, and interested in hiking, bird watching, photographing wildlife and plants, and exploring in general. I'm looking for advise on areas such as: where to stay, how long to allow for travel, the best way to travel around (bus, hired driver, etc,), reputable guides to hire for day-hikes, and best places to visit. Also, are there any places you can hike to, where you can hike from cabin to cabin, rather than tenting?

Thanks for you help,

Jessie

7 replies to this topic
london
reviews: 29
1. Re: Sumatra trip this coming January

Hi,

Compared to US National Parks, where there are signposted trails, guidebooks for walks, and so on, there really is nothing like that in Sumatra, or in Indonesia generally, to speak of.

Ground transportation is very slow and gruelling, it's not a rent-a-car and explore island. Basically there are one or two villages setup for tourists, and that's it. Outside of those villages you are talking about literally hacking your own path through jungle, and it's not something most people would consider.

By far the most popular entrance point to the park is at Bukit Lawang. There are over one hundred guides (far too many, and there isn't much of a process of accreditation/knowledge) there, they do vary in terms of their knowledge of the flora and fauna - most visitors come to see the orangutans (this is trivially easy as they are semi-wild), drink some beer, smoke some dope, and leave.