We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Backcountry Canoe Trip in Algonquin Park from Ottawa

Which Algonquin Park hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Ottawa, Canada
reviews: 1
Backcountry Canoe Trip in Algonquin Park from Ottawa

Hi,

I'm in need of help to plan a canoe trip at Algonquin park!

I am looking to do 4 days-3 night trip. Would love to not have to do any portage but having to do a bit would be fine.

Please let me know what routes you would suggest.. which access points. where to camp.. etc

Any info would be greatly appreciated as this is my first time organising a backcountry canoe trip myself. ( I have been on backcountry trips years ago but can not recall where we went exactly ).

Thank you!!

12 replies to this topic
Toronto, Canada
1. Re: Backcountry Canoe Trip in Algonquin Park from Ottawa

http://www.algonquinmap.com

Try starting with this map. It shows you all sorts of routes that are possible in the entire park. The map includes locations of campsites, portage locations/distances/difficulty.

Keep in mind, no one likes portaging therefore routes with little to no portaging means more people and canoe traffic and fewer campsites available.

For example, cache lake can take you relatively deep into the park with little to no portaging. It is also one of the parks most scenic and popular. Lake Opeongo has a shuttle that takes you, your boat and your equipment from one end to the other in 15 min. Saves you hours of paddling on a lake that can get a bit windy and can also get busy.

This past summer, a few of us paddled to booth lake which I believe can be reached via access point 15. Can't remember now. It required 2 portages of 90 metres and 500 metres. I counted 11 people we encountered over 3 days. Amazing.