We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Novice traveler w/limited budget thinking of staying@ Hostel

Which San Jose hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
reviews: 10
Novice traveler w/limited budget thinking of staying@ Hostel

I am going on a nature tour beginning Jan 11, 2014. I made incorrect flight and will be getting to San Jose Santamaria airport on Jan 8. I have 3 days on my own, not a bad idea but I am a novice, older traveler never been outside North America. The tour is a once in a lifetime trip and costly. My budget is VERY limited at this point and changing flights will cost over $400 so staying in CR is my best choice. Meeting group at Wyndham San Jose - Herradura the 11th. Would like to see some of San Jose on these days. I am trying to find a safe, inexpensive spot to bunk down for the 3 days I will be on my own. Please suggest safe, inexpensive ideas for hotel/hostel/couchsurfing. Thank you all very much.

5 replies to this topic
Chicago, Illinois
Destination Expert
for Costa Rica
reviews: 20
1. Re: Novice traveler w/limited budget thinking of staying@ Hostel

First of all I'm glad to hear you're checking expanding your horizons and hope you have a great trip to Costa Rica. The good news is that you have options. You can stay in San Jose and check out the parks and museums for 3 days or you could be just a hair more adventurous and stay somewhere near San Jose but outside the big city and see a little more of the Central Valley or you could even explore a little farther afield staying at a bed and breakfast and hiring a driver to meet you at the airport.