We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Train, taxi or private driver to Cartago?

Which San Jose hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Dallas, Texas
reviews: 9
Train, taxi or private driver to Cartago?

14. Re: Train to Cartago - Wonderful news!!

Jul 09, 2013, 9:12 AM

We are planning to be in San Jose for one day before we head back to the states. We would love to visit the basilica in Cartego. We have never been to Costa Rica, so I have no experience. We will not have a rental car, and we are traveling with our 3 children. We are staying at the Marriott in San Jose(Heredia), and would this train be good? Or how much would a taxi cost each way? Will it be difficult to get a taxi to bring us back to San Jose later? Sould we hire a driver, and what would that cost? Thanks for any help. We will be going before the end of the month.

Thanks so much!

Barrie, Canada
reviews: 38
1. Re: Train, taxi or private driver to Cartago?

I think that with the Basilica is your main objective and with three kids in tow that a cab would be the least stressful. I love the train, but you would have to purchase tickets a head if time or line up and take your chances – besides taking a cab to the train station anyway. There will be no problem getting a cab back. It will be about $25.00 each way. Not sure what a tour would cost because most would include others activities like the volcano, Orosi Valley and Lancaster Gardens. These are all nice and if you are interested in any or all take a tour.

San Jose, Costa Rica
2. Re: Train, taxi or private driver to Cartago?

Great advice by Cana Tico...and if somebody knows about Cartago is him...agree 100% with his advice...

roadadvisor

Dallas, Texas
3. Re: Train, taxi or private driver to Cartago?

How long will the cabride take?