We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Costa rican money exchange

Which San Jose hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Toronto, Canada
reviews: 5
Costa rican money exchange

I am planning to have some colones and some us dollars. Where is it better to get the exchange rate for colones? Here in Toronto, Canada or in San jose?

Jupiter, Florida
reviews: 2
11. Re: Costa rican money exchange

Warning..Do not use the Global Exchange Bank after passing Customs as their rates are roughly 11% less than what you will receive at hotels, restaurants and other business establishments. I've been flying weekly to Central and South America for 20+ years and nothing irks me more than seeing tourists get ripped off before even exiting the airport.

Costa Rica
reviews: 23
12. Re: Costa rican money exchange

I couldn't agree with you more, wefly777! There are so many better choices rather than using the exchange booth at the airport.

In the past, I have used the exchange booth just to get a bit of the local currency (nothing more than $20) but really wanted to turn around to those waiting and say, "This is not a good idea!" I was almost embarrassed to be there!

Arriving in Costa Rica, both international airports have ATM's, US dollars are widely accepted and you can always exchange dollars for colones at one of the many banks as well as getting colones from any of the many ATM's throughout the country.

Minneapolis
reviews: 5
13. Re: Costa rican money exchange