We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Looking for the Best Costa Rican (Caribbean) Diving

Which Cahuita hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Chicago, Il
reviews: 102
Looking for the Best Costa Rican (Caribbean) Diving

My girlfriend and I are planning a trip in Jan 2010 to CR's for some diving on the Caribbean side (unless someone can suggest otherwise on the Pacific side). Her son is going to join us for a few days and will want to take his PADI open water dives here...any suggestions on a great dive school (shop), accommodations, and the best dive site(s) ? Any suggestions are greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance !!

Thomas

San Jose
reviews: 22
1. Re: Looking for the Best Costa Rican (Caribbean) Diving

Good morning! I am not an expert in diving, but it seems to me that January might not offer the best Caribbean diving experience. Weather wise, January tends to get rain in this area and thus, waters tend to benot as clear as they would be other times of the year to offer an optimus diving experience. I believe best diving experience would be around Sept to November and maybe April and May. Maybe one of the "Limon" or "Puerto Viejo" or Cahuita experts will be able to provide some more insightful information and you might one to double check me.

I know that most people coming down for Scuba / PADI services around that time of the year usually go Pacific. Ocotal hotel has one of the best diving schools in Costa Rica for PADI, certifications, etc.

I'm not trying to discourage you from your visit to the Caribbean, as I do love and love the SOuth Caribbean coast, I just want you to verify before traveling so you make the most out of your experience!

Have fun

Lake Havasu City...
Destination Expert
for Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
reviews: 5