We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

Working in Lagos

Which Lagos hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Liverpool
reviews: 43
Working in Lagos

Am due to work in Lagos for a month from mid Feb. I will be working at the Apapa docks by day,and our hotel is on Victoria Island i think,wev been told it will either be Eko,Moorhouse or La Cour,does anybody know much about these place,iv read some reviews.Its my first time in Nigeria,and indeed Africa,and i am excited and abit worried at the same time. I have concerns about security,although i believe Lagos alot safer than the Delta regions.I have images of being pulled out of car/van during a go slow and hauled off for ransom,not that they would get much for me,especially from the firm i work for,mayby im overeacting,i hope so.I have had all my jabs and have my malaria tablets ready,but still have a great fear off being bitten when the bad boy mozzys come out to play when it gets dark,any tips,is malaria wide spread.Any tips or suggestions what do after work or at weekends,or is just best to stay at your hotel,whats the food like?,i also read its quite expensive,how much is a beer?(very important)maybe somebody whos there or been can help me out,any info or tips would be great

Lagos
1. Re: Working in Lagos

Hi Snozz...,

I just stumbled on this site from trying out www.nokianigeria. I may not visit again.

Am a lagos breed - Prim, proper and classic and work in a finance firm. what u can call collge grad from ur end.

My advice:

Your hotels are not very popular, but being on the V.Island, u're safe.

Both Apapa and V.I are usually alive in the evenings. (but not 4 folks like me. Want to be in my house with my wife.)