We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Taking Malaria pills in Angkor Wat and Siem Reap 2013?

Which Siem Reap hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
The Netherlands
reviews: 29
Taking Malaria pills in Angkor Wat and Siem Reap 2013?

I just returned from Cambodia where we stayed for 7 days in and around the Siem Reap area. Before we went I read a lot about taking malaria pills such as Malarone or Doxy. What I noticed was that many people, just like us, are not sure if they should take the pills or not bother with it. Even our local travels clinic gave contradicting advice. I just wanted to share our personal experience so it can maybe help in the desicion making. I'm not a doctor, just a traveler :)

We decided to take Malarone because we wanted to keep our options open regarding the places we would visit. If we were sure we would only stay in Siem Reap and the main temples in the Angkor area we probably wouldn't have taken them. I was glad we did cause during our trip we ended up traveling to higher risk malaria area's 3 out of 7 days.

We visited the parents and other family members of a friend we made during our trip which gave us a unique opportunity to explore the rural way of life in Cambodia. This village was a quite a long drive from Siem Reap and not in the malaria safe area. Things like this you can't plan at home and just cross your path while traveling :))