We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Solo Female with questions

Which Panama hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Fort McMurray...
reviews: 9
Solo Female with questions

I am a solo female traveler taking off on short notice to the Royal Decameron in Farallon, Panama from Dec 18 to Jan 1. I am reading everything I can find on Panama but would like someone to address me directly if possible with some general advice. My background is I am mid-forties, well traveled in the Caribbean, Mexico and Hawaii, and have rented cars and mopeds in smaller places like Isla Mujeres, Mexico and Guardalavaca, Cuba. I am at the resort for the first week, but independent the second week - which is what I really love. Also I can manage a little Spanish for getting around. So my main concerns are these:

1. Am I safe as a solo female to be driving to some of the common tourist areas around the country of Panama by myself? 2. How hard will it be to find accommodation such as a B and B or small hotel without a reservation?

3. How difficult is the driving there - are the roads well marked with signs for getting around - I prefer to avoid large city driving but like the country?

4. Which areas are relatively close to Farallon that I can reasonably expect to cover in one week ? A 3 or 4 hour drive is not a big deal to me - just the safety factor.

Thanks for any advice anyone is able to give!

Olympia, Washington
reviews: 118
1. Re: Solo Female with questions