We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Traveling to Nicaragua with pets?

Which Nicaragua hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
FL
reviews: 19
Traveling to Nicaragua with pets?

Can pets be brought into Nicaragua from the U.S.?

Nicaragua
reviews: 38
1. Re: Traveling to Nicaragua with pets?

I do think that will be a problem as long as the dog is up to date with its vaccines.

San Francisco...
reviews: 101
2. Re: Traveling to Nicaragua with pets?

I am a registered veterinary technician and have traveled all over Nicaragua (and Costa Rica)

Regarding traveling with a dog - There are stray dogs running around everywhere in Nicaragua. Good chance of your dog getting in a fight, contracting something, or running away. Another thing to keep in mind is that pet kidnapping is not uncommon in Central America - especially when it is a Gringo who is obviously cares for the animal. Nicaragua is also host to many parasites that are uncommon in the US that could make your dog sick. The stresses of travel and drastic change in climate/temperature will weaken your dogs immune system making it more susceptible to parasites and pathogenic bacteria/viruses

Veterinary medicine in the area is either non-existent or primate at best

Do your dog a big favor and leave it at home

FL
reviews: 19
3. Re: Traveling to Nicaragua with pets?

Thanks Sean - that sure makes Nicaragua a place where I don't think I want to go. I really appreciate the information.

San Francisco...
reviews: 101
4. Re: Traveling to Nicaragua with pets?

It's a great place to visit - just leave your dog at home with a friend.

Boston...
reviews: 8
5. Re: Traveling to Nicaragua with pets?

Derb,