We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Did Incas strech earlobes?

Which Machu Picchu hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Easter Island, Chile
reviews: 1
Did Incas strech earlobes?

I can't think of any better place to ask, since here should be plenty of people who know lots about the incas.

Did the Incas elongate their earlobes? If so, was it common or only practiced by a small group?

Cusco, Peru
reviews: 31
1. Re: Did Incas strech earlobes?

I am no expert in Peruvian history but to the best of my knowledge, no the Inca's did not elongate their earlobes.

cusco peru
2. Re: Did Incas strech earlobes?

A spanish chronicler said: And had a single, "Inca" who occupied the cusp of social stratification pyramid. Followed by the nobility or "big ears" (people with big ears) named after the conquerors due to deformation of their lobes to wear heavy earrings and ornaments representing their difference from the common people.

Edited: 11:32 am, November 23, 2012
jersey
reviews: 19
3. Re: Did Incas strech earlobes?

Why the question i ask.

Lima, Peru
Destination Expert
for Cusco, Lima, Arequipa, Peru
reviews: 279
4. Re: Did Incas strech earlobes?

Sorry to tell you are wrong.

The Orejones, as said above, were the nobility in the Inca times.

Check here for more information :http://translate.google.com/translate?hl=en&sl=es&u=http://es.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nobleza_incaica&prev=/search%3Fq%3Dinca%2Borejones%26hl%3Den%26tbo%3Dd%26biw%3D1024%26bih%3D644&sa=X&ei=9vqvUOPLFY3g8AS1k4HIAQ&sqi=2&ved=0CDwQ7gEwAg

Easter Island, Chile
5. Re: Did Incas strech earlobes?

Ah, very interesting.

The reason I ask is the following: