We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

From Cusco to Puno: bus vs plane

Which Cusco hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Piacenza, Italy
Level Contributor
601 posts
118 reviews
From Cusco to Puno: bus vs plane

I'm planning my trip to Peru that will be at the end of september/beginning of october and right now I'm looking for some infos about the Cusco - Puno tri. I've already searched the forum and found a couple of interesting posts like this one: tripadvisor.com/ShowTopic-g294314-i3023-k552…

I'd like to ask those who have been there these two things:

1) Is it worth going by bus talking about the scenary along the way? Not really for the stops you make, but for the landscape, mountains, nature, ecc... It's my first time there, this is the reason why I would choose the bus. Or it's not basic for a visit in Peru and better going by plane that's faster? In this case, I'll have 1/2 day more to dedicate to the visit of Puno.

2) I was told the street is good. Since I feel a bit of sickness on the bus, is there anyone with similr problems who can tell me his experience? I think it should be possible to ask for seats in the first rows paying something extra, right?

Thx anyone for your help! :)

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9,534 posts
96 reviews
1. Re: From Cusco to Puno: bus vs plane

We did the inkaexpress tourist bus from Cusco to Puno a couple weeks ago. The scenery along the ride is nice but not particularly fantastic. You will see nicer scenery in the Sacred Valley and on Lake Titicaca. The first half is climbing up through the mountains to the pass at La Raya so is pretty nice. It was nice to see the very high mountains covered in snow at La Raya.