We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

4 weeks in Cusco?

Which Cusco hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Napa Valley, CA
reviews: 10
4 weeks in Cusco?

I am an older student and have recently returned to university. I am majoring in Anthropology but am very interested in Latin America; the people, history, culture, etc. One of my professors does a program every summer in Cusco, "History of the Andean People." I am very interested in doing this program. We will have 3 days in Machu Picchu, and will see all the other major sites in the area. I will earn university credit, which is a major factor in me going, as well as having the experience of a lifetime. My husband will be joining me although he finished college many, many years ago.

My question is: what do you think about being in Cusco for 4 weeks? Is it the kind of place many of you would love to have more time in (like Paris, I could stay there for months and months!). I am concerned about the altitude and just being in one place for so long that is quite different from home. We both love travel, meeting new people, and I have studied Spanish for the last 4 years and would love to use it. We would be busy with classes and activities so would not be bored. Responses? feedback? Advice? Thank you!

Seattle, Washington
1. Re: 4 weeks in Cusco?

I just returned from Cusco where I stayed for 6 days while my husband did the Inca Trail. I cannot imagine staying there for 4 weeks. However, you will be busy with classes so that may be the difference. Cusco is not Paris.

california
Destination Expert
for Los Angeles, Palm Desert
reviews: 143
2. Re: 4 weeks in Cusco?