We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sacred Valley/Cusco options

Which Cusco hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Wallingford, CT
Sacred Valley/Cusco options

Hi everyone,

I have a specific question regarding my plans for visiting the Cusco/Sacred Valley area this coming January. For whatever reason, I'm overly-concerned about altitude sickness/lack of oxygen, probably because I have no experience ever being at any significant altitude, and I have this innate fear of breathing difficulties (which might be somewhat irrational). :)

Anyway, my husband and I will be in the Cusco/SV/MP area for a week (Saturday-Friday) and I am considering a few different itineraries. I'm trying to determine which would be better for the easiest altitude adjustment. Here are the options:

Option 1:

2 nights in Sacred Valley (1.5 days, after arriving in Cusco early AM)

2 nights in Cusco

2-day Inca Trail hike (including 1 night in Aguas Calientes)

1 more night in Cusco

Option 2:

2 nights in Sacred Valley (1.5 days, after arriving in Cusco early AM)

2-day Inca Trail hike (including 1 night in AC)

3 nights in Cusco

**if we choose this option, where can we store our luggage while we do the hike, since we will not be returning to the same hotel?

Option 3:

3 nights in Sacred Valley (2.5 days, after arriving in Cusco early AM)

2-day Inca Trail hike (including 1 night in AC)

2 nights in Cusco (but this really only gives us 1 full day in Cusco)

**We would do this option if the consensus was that 1.5 days/2 nights in the SV wasn't really enough before embarking on the 2-day hike, but if you felt that we should do the hike before going to Cusco.