We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Car Rentals

Which Santiago hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
New York
reviews: 71
Car Rentals

We are trying to rent a car for 7 days. We will be travelling from Santiago to Valparaiso and then south to Colchagua wine Country. I find that by using Hertz or Avis in the US the price is very high. Has anyone used local companies like United Rent-A-Car Chile or citycarrental.com. How do I make sure I have all the proper coverage? How do I avoid hidden fees for insurance and taxes? What should I expect to pay for a mid-sized automatic? Has anyone had experiences with any local companies?

12 replies to this topic
rio de janeiro
reviews: 183
1. Re: Car Rentals

I have no experience of local companies. I just recommend you to avoid AVIS CHILE by any means. They are extremely unpolite and are specialized in "perfect" scams. Mistrust them.

Toronto, Canada
Destination Expert
for Chile, Santiago
2. Re: Car Rentals

Take a look at Lys car rentals, www.lys.cl/car-rental_eng/html. I have found pleasant and reliable in the past.

New York
3. Re: Car Rentals

Thank you we did already rent from Lys, I am encouraged by your recommendation. They were professional , their responses to our questions were clear , comprehensive and prompt.

virginia
4. Re: Car Rentals

I'm also interested in renting a car at Santiago airport. I'll be arriving on a Sunday morning. Does this lys company have a desk at the airport. What insurance coverage do I need to take. Is it difficult to get out of the airport area and drive to Santa Cruz. Thank you . eleana

New York
5. Re: Car Rentals

Eleana,