We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tour, personal driver or taxi?

Which Nanjing hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Toronto
reviews: 263
Tour, personal driver or taxi?

I'll be in Shanghai in April and plan on doing a day trip to Nanjing.

I have not done too much research but plan on seeing a few sites. Should I book a tour?, find a personal driver or just get a taxi between the sites we want to see.

Taking the metro is also an option.

I should note that I will be travelling with my parents, who are still active and are both native Mandarin speakers.

Nanjing, China
1. Re: Tour, personal driver or taxi?

I'm not an expert in Nanjing's sites, but, especially considering you have language skills in your party, I suggest you either take taxi's (your hoel should be able to recommend sites and of course there is lots of information on the web) or hire a car and driver (around 600 rmb per day).

I car and driver would certainly be the most convenient and relaxing option. Again, one you've booked your hotel they can probably suggest a car service - they may even be able to arrange this for you (although they might be more expensive, but also more reliable).

Hope you enjoy Nanjing!

Toronto
2. Re: Tour, personal driver or taxi?

I don't plan on staying overnight in Nanjing.

Our plan is to take an early fast train from Shanghai and then return in the evening.

I'm starting to think it might be easier to just get a metered taxi between the sites especially since my parents speak the language.

Does anyone by chance know how often the fast trains depart from Shanghai?

Edited: 8:30 pm, February 27, 2013
Nanjing, China
3. Re: Tour, personal driver or taxi?