We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Druze villages on Mount Carmel

Which Jerusalem hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Cincinnati, Ohio
Destination Expert
for Israel
reviews: 141
Druze villages on Mount Carmel

Next May, I will be staying in Haifa for three days with my friend Joy, and I am looking for some new experiences for both of us. I have never visited Daliat al-Carmel and Isfiya, the two Druze villages on Mount Carmel near Haifa. For those who have been there, are they worth a stop? Besides the restaurants, what is there to do there? Is it easy to meet and talk with people? I ask because having some experience with the Druze would be the main point of the visit. That is a side of Israeli life with which I've had no experience.

Also, we will be in Haifa on Thursday, May 8, 2007, which is Yom Ha-Atzma'ut, Israel's 60th anniversary. That will be a very exciting time to be in Israel. Since Betina will have moved to the Tel Aviv area by then, we have lost our local contact in the city, sadly. We'd love to get a flavor of what people do for the holiday. Do you think it would make sense that day to head up to Carmel National Forest because it will be full of families having holiday barbecues? That park is another place I have never been. Any other suggestions?

I am hoping there will be fireworks over Haifa Bay the preceding evening as the holiday begins, but we'll have to wait and see on that.

Can you tell I have been totally obsessing about this trip already? :-)

Shabbat shalom, everyone.

Douglas Duckett

Haifa
reviews: 2
11. Re: Druze villages on Mount Carmel

I've found some Druse hospitality business - http://www.el-carmel.com/English.doc

Don't have any personal experience with them, though..

Amsterdam, Holland
Destination Expert
for Bhutan
reviews: 137