We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Self-drive car rental in Sri Lanka

Which Colombo hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Norwich, UK
reviews: 1
Self-drive car rental in Sri Lanka

I'd really appreciate any recommendations on self drive rental companies in Sri Lanka. Casons Rent-a-car seem to have a good range; I was going to enquire about a 4x4.

Any helpful recommendations or experiences would be welcome. We don't have a tight budget.

I've read lots of "do not self drive in Sri Lanka" posts, so am aware of the dangers, but I am a very experienced driver and feel safer driving myself.

Look forward to your replies.

Thanks,

Dan

Edited: 5:19 pm, January 12, 2011
153 replies to this topic
Dubai, United Arab...
reviews: 17
131. Re: Self-drive car rental in Sri Lanka

Thanks Hans, but we have been driving all around the world for a lot of years and are not worried about driving in Sri Lanka. Was just concerned about getting the international drivers licence authenticated. Is this easy to do and how long do you think it will take?

Melbourne, Australia
reviews: 237
132. Re: Self-drive car rental in Sri Lanka

Thanks David for your post and Hans for continually telling everyone that Self Driving is terrible. Here are my responses.

Car Rental Co's have bad cars - We chose Avis through Walker Travel, probably paid more than a rust bucket company but they were fantastic - they even drove another car across Sri Lanka from Colombo to Trincomalee when our air-con failed - great service.