We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

early stages of planning, questions on Matopos and Masvingo

Which Zimbabwe hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
geneva
reviews: 16
early stages of planning, questions on Matopos and Masvingo

Hello to all,

I am just beginning to look at a side trip into Zimbabwe for July 2014.We'll be in the Tuli block in Botswana and I would like to know if my itinerary makes sense:

-drive from Tuli to Matopos in one day, going through the border at Beitbridge? how long in terms of kilometers and time would that take?

-spend 2 nights in Matopos :Matobo hills lodge? (we are not looking for luxury, just a friendly, clean place, self catering is great too, shared bathroom ok.as cheap as possible as long as it's clean)

-drive from Matopos to Masvingo :again, how long a drive? are the roads good, we'll be driving a car rental from SA)

looking at Norma Jeanne's lakeview resort because Lodge at ancient city seems too pricey...

staying 2 or 3 nights

-drive back to Messina and then we know what to do again!

Thanks for all/any input, we have never been to Zim and are really looking forward to going!

Victoria Falls...
Destination Expert
for Victoria Falls
reviews: 2
1. Re: early stages of planning, questions on Matopos and Masvingo

Hi

If you are staying in the Tuli block in Botswana, then I would definately suggest using the border bost at Plumtree rather than Beitbridge, it's much closer, means you don't have to cross back into South Africa and Beitbridge is notorious for being a horrendous border post.